We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING, JUST DO IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)

Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)
Da Bomerano (Agerola) A Nocelle (Positano), 80051 Agerola, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$614*
and up
Private Transfer: Path of Gods and Positano Day...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Agerola
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING, JUST DO IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Am always surprised as the sometimes misleading reviews on trip adviser, the way some people were carrying on about the walk really had my girlfriend worried as she only had a pair of Doc Martin boots and some of the reviews will lead you to think you'd fall off the cliff and die if you don't have the right gear.

I wouldn't say there is anything particularly dangerous about the walk, people who are grossly overweight or unfit should probably steer clear but aside from that it is fine.

I myself am not in the best shape, and whilst I was certainly out of breath at times, it really wasn't that much of a challenge and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

I probably wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has vertigo, a fear of heights or who suffers from asthma or any kind of heart condition.

We saw lots of people who appeared in there 50's and 60's, but again, I would only recommend it for that age group if you're relatively fit.

The walk itself is absolutely stunning, probably the best thing we've done so far in our 7 days in Italy.

You will see unrivalled views of the Amalfi coastline and mountains and also see some amazing history with the churches built up in the mountains with frescoes dating back 900 odd years.

Our guide Maurizio also was the main reason we had such a wonderful day, he walked at a fantastic pace, always stopping to point out certain plants, buildings or things of significance and has a wonderful knowledge of the area considering he grew up here and obviously still lives in the region.

He stayed with us for basically the entire day, took us to a wonderful restaurant and we were also lucky enough to meet his wonderful Father.

We also got to try local figs and grapes which were a delight.

You may also see some goats on the trek which was quite cool.

Again, don't be put off by some of the reviews making this out to be terrifying and super challenging.

I understand everyone has different limits and opinions but I would say anyone from ages 13-60 could do this if they are in the right condition and want to see some of the most spectacular views around.

Don't stress about shoes like my girlfriend did, I wore my casual sneakers (just average skateboard shoes) and after doing the walk my girlfriend mentioned that she probably could have done the walk in just her flats that she was scared about wearing in the first place.

10/10 experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomcruise35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Path of the gods Bomerano to Positano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Read lots of reviews, took the plunge, experienced an overcrowded Sita bus from amalfi stood the whole way up the mountain to bomerano - the scenery going up was spectacular and scary but good to have seen. Arrived at bomerano and got off the bus after asking one of the passengers, the bus driver was not forthcoming with information as to when to get off. There were no signs to where the start of the walk is so had to ask a few people..got to piazza capasso where there's a map of different walks. The walk is 7 km to Positano and it took us 3 hrs exactly with photostops and a couple of breaks. We brought sandwiches, water and hats. The annoying thing about it for me was the constant buzzing of flies and wasps but other than that, if I can do this walk, most people will be able to. Some of the paths were less than 3 feet wide with sheer drops on the side and its fairly high! The views were incredible, magnificent, definitely worth the knee and hip ache. It's more downhill which I found harder than uphill with a few rocky sections but not impossible. It's not a race so we could have done it slower. The weather was humid and misty so as the clouds travelled across and up the mountain, the sight of Positano with the sun beaming on it directly was nothing short of biblical! Happy to reach Nocelle but unfortunately Santa Croce (fab restaurant) was closed already. There's a free toilet down the steps in the tiny square at Nocelle to freshen up. Walked back up the steps ..knees felt shocking, went in to the shop where there's a bus timetable and bought bus tickets to Positano. The timetable to check is the one that stops at montepuroso. The bus drive is refreshingly zippy and we made it just in time for a quick run through the lanes and down to the beach to catch the last ferry to amalfi at 6:30pm! The ferry ride also is worthy of superlatives! In the end you'll feel great...sweaty and dirty but definitely a rewarding way to burn off the pizzas pasta and gelati.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gidget_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The hike of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If the Amalfi Coast wasn't beautiful enough from the water and every town along the coast, just go up, way up, above it all, along this incredibly beautiful hiking path. The best views of the coast are here - away from everything (except the odd hiker).

We hiked from Nocelle to Praiano (from mountain top to sea!), which was just over half the trail. We started out around 9am and took our time (stopped for snacks and 100+ photo ops) only running into other hikers on the back half of the route. We were glad to be down in Praiano by noon-ish as it was getting really hot - definitely a route best tackled in the morning during warm months. We took along maps we found and downloaded online but the trail is fairly well marked.

It is not an 'easy' trail in that the ground is very uneven - everything from small rocks to large boulders, loose gravel, tree roots, plants, etc. - and there are lots of steep inclines and declines. You need at least a good sneaker if not a light hiking shoe. We saw one girl in ballet flats who looked miserable. There are lots of big steps, again, made from broken, uneven rock so it can be a bit jarring on the body. If you aren't regularly physically active, you will find this a bit challenging. Nothing that can't be helped with a swim in the sea and some delicious food and wine though!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SjayToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is one of my favorite hikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We parked the car in Bomerano, and took this lovely path up in the hills. The path was safe and well prepared. We got our 8 year old daughter with us, so we walked about 4 hours included some rests and photostops.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laila3526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

You wont find many paths with views better than these, not just in the Amalfi coast but all around the world, they are breathtaking!
Like written before you set out from Praiano escalating through numerous steps ( about one hour of climbing) through amazing hillside scenery and one local church ( with an amzing balcony viewing the coast) until you pick up the main trail that leads to Nocelle.
The walk is along the cliffs with 100% panoramic views all of the way ( don't change the camera to off mode- its a waste of time) so I would advise to set out on a sunny day as the sun reflects beautifuly on the Mediterranean sea.
Once reaching Nocelle don't make the mistake of walking down the stairs ( through their local church) towards the shore. instead keep straight on the path that crosses Nocelle ( passing by a small restaurant) towards the next town Montepertuso. Soon enough the trail unites with a paved road as you decline towards Montepertuso.
After you cross most of the town just before reaching a small garage on your right there is a small stairway leading al the way down to Positano ( try not to miss it, if you do you will have to walk along the paved road all the way down, which is a longer and less scenic route )
The stair path down to Positano is surely one of the highlights of this daily path because of the amazing scenery on Postiano and its bay
To round things up, This is a PERFECT way to have a "taste" of what the Amalfi coast is all about, truly a must!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ranmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods) also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing