We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the dingly dell walk!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)

Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)
Da Bomerano (Agerola) A Nocelle (Positano), 80051 Agerola, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Agerola
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Do the dingly dell walk!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This walk is everything it is cracked up to be. Outstanding views and a great day out. Go from Bomerano to Positano if you want but a more challenging variation is from Praiano via the Santa Maria Convent (the guardian can provide drinks and snacks for a donation) and picking up the main trail at Col de Serra (go all the way up to the Col and take the higher path, not the lower variation). If your knees can make it, it is then worth walking all the way down into Positano although opt outs are possible using local buses at Nocello or Montepertuso.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    166
    24
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sentigliero degli Dei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

best is to hike from Bomerano to Nocelle to get the best views on Capri and the peninsula. Getting to Bomerano by SITA bus was a nightmare (3 hours and ending up paying a taxi). Well worth investing in La Mammola's transfer car service from positano!
In Nocelle, worth asking for direction if you want to get to the parking and take the local bus back to Positano (this bus will pass by in front of the Casarella by the way)... Unless your knees can afford walking down steps (for 1 hour!)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hike with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We started out trek at Nocelle where we were staying and followed the red and white markers and the numbered tiles. It is a strenuous trek but well worth it with some stunning views of the mountains and sea below. We trekked Nocelle to Bomerano which was about 6km , took us around 2.5 hrs .Westopped to eat at an innocuous looking place called crazy burger at bomerano which turned out to be the best restaurant that I had dined in! Our host Antonio was so kind that he shared his organically grown tomatoes,figs , and wild mushrooms . Our walk back to Nocelle was faster and we did that in an hour and a half . It did help to have a map at hand , downloaded from the net or one you can pick up from the tourist office at positano or amalfi .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing walk but more signs needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely walk with panoramic views of the Amalfi Coast. We took the walk from Nocelle to Praiano. It seems that most people started the walk from Agerola to Positano, but we found the bus schedules to Agerola too complicated.

Weather in July was very very hot, remember to bring enough water as most of the path has no shade. At some locations we got abit lost as there seem to have many paths leading in different directions but no signpost. We were lucky to meet fellow hikers who pointed us to the right direction.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Important information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

There is one thing you need to know - if you start in Positano to Bomerano - you ALWAYS go up. If you start in Bomerano to Positano - you ALWAYS go down and the view is just as good and I would say better - which one do you prefer? We drove to Amalfi and took a bus from there (5EUR) to Bomerano - we did the walk in a few hours - it was not too difficult (always down) - saying that it can be a bit tricky for older people at the begining - especially with rocks. We left at 9.30am from Bomerano, had lunch in positano and took a bus back to Amalfi where we parked the car in a private parking. I liked the walk - but it was not sporty enough for me - the scenary was really really good - but not as breathtaking as expected in my opinion. I would recommend it though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods) also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.