We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)

Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)
Da Bomerano (Agerola) A Nocelle (Positano), 80051 Agerola, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$606*
and up
Private Transfer: Path of Gods and Positano Day...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Agerola
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I hiked up from Positano, through Montepertuso and Nocelle along the path, and then descended back down to the coast road at Praiano where we caught a local bus back to Positano. We were there in mid-October, a week after the region had suffered a great deal of rain, but the weather couldn't have been more perfect for our visit. We love to hike, and this was one of our all-time favorite, relatively short day hikes. The only drawback of the hike was the stress on our knees and ankles from the descent down so many stone steps to Praiano.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Haggis138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Zia Lucy The Best Guide for your Amalfi Coast Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Amalfi Coast offers a myriad of scenic hikes. The Footpath of the Gods is only one of these hikes. The views are spectacular and the hikes are on old goat paths and donkey paths used by the mountain people, before roads were installed--only 20 years ago--to give easier access to the popular coastal areas.

My guide for my 6-week stay in Positano was Lucia, owner of Zia Lucy. Lucia (Lucy) will personalize any hike to your abiilty/preference/time constraints. She is a TRUE LOCAL, born and raised in Positano and speaks excellent English, has a degree in Literature and is working on an Art History degree, as well as teaches English & Spanish classes in Positano. Not only do you get an articulate, Positanese historian as a guide, but she can show you off-the-beaten-path places and share stories that give you a true local-flavor that you will not get in any guidebook.

Her knowledge--fauna, flora and lore--of the mountains along the Amalfi Coast is unsurpassed and you will feel safe and secure at all times with her. We toured the cemetary, the town (she also offers some wonderful in town tours), various villages within Positano, Footpath of the Gods, The Valley of the Mills (near Scala/Amalfi), The Torre dello Ziro and other hiking in nearby towns/villages.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
15 Thank atwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World-class balcony trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fantastic scenic trail through terraced olive groves with views of the Costiera Amalfitana, villages, and the sea. We hiked up from Praiano to the trail, then to Positano and back. The steep uphill from our hotel was convenient and adventurous, but hard on the knees. Next time we'll start in Bomerano - the first section to the Colle la Serra looked very scenic as well as easier. It was beautiful and peaceful in November.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hike of a life. Guided by Francesco Carpegna who we highly reccomend,( Positano Walking Adventures ) the Amalfi walking trails ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

While planning our stay in Amalfi Coast
area we felt unsure about the best way to plan our hiking. In Positano we were so fortunate to meet Francesco Carpegna the owner of Positano Walking Adventures.A perfectly bilingual history buff with 15 yrs guiding and interpreting experience he brought this amazing area to life for us.
The hikes are moderately challenging (we are reasonably fit middle age) 1/2 day to day 3/4 day hikes that offer panoramic sea views from the mountain paths. They can be a bit crisscrossed in some areas so we do reccomend use of a guide. Delicious village cuisine was a bonus surprise on those days.Enjoy.

Helpful?
5 Thank PEIslanders6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vertiginous beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Easy to follow once you are on the path. Hiking with a photo camera takes longer time (consider the daylight limits in low season, it gets dark by 5 pm). I was hiking there late December and it was very comfortable (I assume it would be too hot to make this hike in summer). Suitable boots are neccessary (stone-paved track can be slippery in some places). The views are magnificent and there are occasional tables and benches on top of mountains (looks perfect for romantic dates:).

I walked from Positano to Nocelle (or you can take a local bus for this part if it is too much for you), joined the path there and made it up to Agerola, where took a bus to Amalfi, then changed back to Positano (if you start in the morning you can cover several towns on the coast). It feels very safe up there and you meet other hikers or locals on the road. It was definitely the highlight of my 2-day stay in Positano. Unforgettable beauty of Amalfi coast.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank poooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods) also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing