We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pighi Sariza

Hotel Pighi Sariza
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pighi Sariza to your Saves list
Hotel Pighi Sariza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apikia Rd. | Andros Town, 84500, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Andros
athens
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I'm Greek 36yo and this was like nothing i've experienced in my whole life. The 5 bulgarian staff are not really hotel staff but a bunch of people doing everything. The owner is a guy shouting at them in plain view of the customers. Not helpful at all.
The rooms are smelly and dirty. The water in the bathroom was red like from rust. terrible breakfast, bread was old. The prices at the are extortionate and more expensive than a fashionable bar in Athens.
If you dont have a car you cant go anywhere and the is no swimming pool. The AC was not working. No tv remote and reception was bad. Mr papadopoulos does not exist and the name is equivalent to Mr smith in English. What can i say, honestly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

The only good thing I can say is that it's situated near paths you can explore. Yet, it's 20 mins by car from the sea and there is no bus comunication except for one at 6a.m. or sth.
The rooms are really oldfashioned and very very very dirty,
The stuff doesn't speak any english, they are not greek anyway, they sounded bulgarian, and there are 5 people that do everyhting, from cleaning to cooking.
The owner is arrogant.
My view from the balcony wasn't that good(it was a t the back of the hotel).
The pool doesn't have any water (supposedly because it can be dangerous but actually becase they few stuff can't also do the lifeguard that the hotal should have if wanted the pool).
It seems more like a HOSTEL than hotel. The prices should be of a HOSTEL nto a hotel, or at least of a 1 star hotel, not 3.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pighi2010, Manager at Hotel Pighi Sariza, responded to this review, February 3, 2010
There are a lot of footpaths that cover the surrounding area and lead to many hidden and interesting spots. Make sure you have a camera with you.
The hotel is not 20min by car from the sea, it's 20min on foot. By car it shouldn't take you more than 5min and that's because you can only drive slowly here. For the same reason, even though the town (Chora) is very close, it takes 10-15min by car while in straight road for the same distance it should take 2-3min
There is a bus service and the bus stop is right outside the hotel. You can check the bus time table on their web site before visiting. However this is not necessary, because we can transfer you to (or from) both the beach and town for no extra cost.

The rooms are dated, yes, but a renovation process has already started throughout the hotel and they are definitely not dirty at all, far from it. Personally I have stayed at many hotels in Greece and I would like to claim that our standard of cleaning is pretty good!

When looking for stuff we give equal opportunity to both foreign and domestic applicants. Usually we pick our choices based on qualities that are not related to ones nationality. The stuff do not do everything, they have specific jobs.

The owner is arrogant, yes, and many other things, but he is not involved neither with customer related issues or management so basically... I speak to him and nobody else, so I don't really see a problem there.

The hotel has two types of rooms, with a view to the sea and with a view to the mountain... like in any other hotel in the world, customers pick whatever they like.

We do not advertise our swimming pool, due to the fact the it needs some work done to it. It is not mentioned anywhere (the web-site, our browser etc.) Once it is finished and since very few hotels on the island actually have one, I think we'll be very happy to advertise it.

Thank you for your time
John Papadopoulos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

Great to stay in.
We visited the hotel in August 2006.
WeI stayed for a week and enjoyed the warm welcome of the owner as well as the staff who were eager to help in any way they could.
A plus of this hotel is the peace and quiet, so I would strongly recommend it for relaxing an overworked person.
Add to it the numerous trekking paths that are well enough marked and allow you to visit the whole area.
The hotel has also a swimming pool of olympic dimensions and we did take advantage of it especially in the afternoons after a long walk.
We did also like the cuisine, which although not a five star restaurant offers a variety of local dishes well prepared and served, and inexpensive too.
On top of all this we did use the natural spring water that is right out of the backyard door, the said backyard is a large paved area well shaded by three big trees, two of them mapples.
The said water spring is the well known Sariza water spring which has healing properties, I did loose weight, for some ailments. Ludwig

  • Liked — View from the balcony, peace and quiet, water spring
  • Disliked — Distance from island commercial port
  • Tips/Secrets — Arrive with early ship to Gavrio, leave in the afternoon, not the late ship
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2004

Major rip off!!! I strongly suggest that nobody ever crosses the porch of this dump. I was and I was sorry.Try something down town instead.John

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pighi Sariza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pighi Sariza

Address: Apikia Rd. | Andros Town, 84500, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pighi Sariza 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pighi Sariza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pighi Sariza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.