We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Despina's Rooms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naxos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Despina's Rooms
Save
You added Despina's Rooms to your Saves list
Venetian Kastle | Chora, Naxos Town 84300 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
BUTTE MT
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our second visit to DESPINA'S rooms. Very easy to find, you can see the sing from the port area and it is in an excellent location in the old part of town. The first visit we had a view of the castle, this year we had a view of the porta. The rooms are small, but spotlessly clean and there is a common kitchen area to prepare snacks and beverages. One of the best features is the rooftop terrace. There are rooms located here as well, but with shared bath (our rooms had private) Fantastic view and just a lovely place to chill out and watch the sunset if you want to escape the busy Naxos port area. Despina is a beautiful, charming and funny lady, makes you feel so welcome. Reasonable prices, excellent location, everything we wanted for a stay in Naxos port! thank you Despina, and we'll see you on our next visit!!

Room Tip: Rooftop terrace rooms are the bomb if you don't mind to share the bathroom, otherwise, be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Found Despina's place while looking around the old town - Despina is a charming lady with a great heart. We were offered coffee and biscuits while the rooms were made up - the roof terrace is amazing! Rooms were spotless and functional and the communal kitchen is very useful to prepare a salad.

Room Tip: Corner room, number 5, is very recommendable - facing north-west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the best things on arriving on Naxos is looking for Despinas Rooms, winding your way up and through the narrow alleys looking for the little blue arrows. When we arrived we were welcomed warmly. Shown too our room we initially booked one of the rooftop rooms (there are 3)....the room was perfect but unfortunately the weather not so the next day we moved too a room downstairs. Room 2 is a small but perfectly proportioned double with a small balcony on one side looking onto the sea and the other side the castle, en suite shower room and fridge. Exceptionally clean room with a comfortable bed. The owner Despina and her daughter in law Nina are two beautiful people who will spend quality time with you (including coffee and biscuits) and you never feel like your impeding on there time. The location is peaceful on the outside but corridor noise carries well. We stayed for 4 nights and considering the weather was cold and windy we still found plenty too do.......The rooms are close too everything but far enough too get lost in the wonderful alleys. If ever we ever return we could not return just too say hello as when we left we felt like family......thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After an island-hopping holiday, we chose to return to Naxos and find somewhere in the old town. Despina's was the first place we came to. That was 15 years ago and we've never looked back. Despina and her daughter-in-law Nina are unfailingly welcoming and we quickly felt like we'd made friends. The rooms are spotlessly clean and excellent value - despite the change to the Euro, the price has only increased marginally in that period. Although not all the rooms have a balcony, most have a view of the harbour and the Portara. And if you're room doesn't have a view? The flat roof is open to all, and is the perfect place to watch the sun set over the Paros before heading out of the evening, just two minutes to the bars and restaurants by the harbour. One thing though: the breeze tends to gust through, so take care not to let the doors slam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It is worth staying here for the beautiful bedspreads alone. Great location, views optional, but worthwhile - lovely people, neat, clean, in the heart of the old town, a short walk from the port, good wifi, aircon, fine shower, a patio with a killer view and a communal kitchen if you wish... The only drawback I can think of is that the tap-water, which was ok to drink, tasted and smelled slightly brackish - a hint of marshgas or sulphur... Either way, it won't kill you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved the place! The owner are really friendly and welcoming! I felt home and I really do recommend this place to stay.
I wish I would have stayed longuer over there. + view from the roof top is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Last Fall (October 2013) we spent a week at "Despina's Rooms" in Naxos town. This delightful spot is one of the most enjoyable hostelries we have ever experienced. Our room was small by North American standards but clean, convenient, with air conditioning and well sited in the centre of the old town.

From our window we could see a 2500 year old arch, the remnant of an unfinished civil project. Looking the other way was a well preserved Venetian castle. We started every day with this panorama as we ate our breakfast on the balcony. There was a tiny kitchen downstairs where we could brew our morning coffee. A baker perhaps two minutes away on
foot supplied our bread right from his ovens.The harbour was a few minutes away so transportation was close by. This includes the island's bus service, ferries and taxis.

Despina's is one of the few places we've stayed that would prompt us to return to a destination, just to be able to stay at the same place. Note that it is not a hotel, nor a B&B. Don't expect luxury. It does have Wi-Fi and a certain ambiance that we found delightful and the value received for what we paid is right at the top of the scale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Despina's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despina's Rooms

Address: Venetian Kastle | Chora, Naxos Town 84300 , Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Despina's Rooms Naxos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Despina's Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.