We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper greek island hopping accommodation. Will live long in the memory.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irene Pension 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Irene Pension 1 to your Saves list
Irene Pension 1
2.5 of 5 Pension (B&B)   |   Christos Area, Naxos Town 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 52 Naxos Town B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Proper greek island hopping accommodation. Will live long in the memory.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were greeted by Stavros at the port who gave us a quick tour of the town on the transfer back to Irene I. He also took us to Irene II so that we knew where to find it if we wanted to use the pool or have a coffee with THE Irene.
Stavros had provided some useful literature about the island and indicated to us the best beaches and villages. (They were all spot on btw)
The room was spacious, clean had that proper feel of Greek hospitality. This was not surprising as we had found Irene I in the Naxos chapter of Lonely Planet.
The kitchenette was equipped with everything we needed. Stavros also popped in a few times to leave some cake and other Greek delicacies.
The room had a TV with all the usual Greek satellite channels. The WiFi signal was strong and we had a couple of Skype calls without any glitches.
Outside the room was a communal area that added to the relaxed atmosphere of the rooms. We had a few cups of tea out there in the mornings and met some fellow travellers. Should also note here that the room had it's own private balcony.
The apartments are located in a quiet area of the town approximately five minutes walk from the Hora's best square, Plateia Evripeou.
On leaving, Irene also helped book us a room in Syros and got us a discount.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
59
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockton on tees
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Enjoyed a 7 night stay during early June 11.Was met at the port by Stavros and given a nice room on the first floor with excellent views to the mountains ands sea.The room was fine,good facilities to prepare breakfast,excellent air con and satellite tv.It was cleaned every day.I love the location,turn left out of the gate and you soon reach the main road where all the local shops,bakeries and cafes are. If you take another left here wander along for about ten minutes,you will reach the seafront.If you take a right out of the gate,you will hit the more tourist areas in about three minutes.After previous visits and a bit of practice,the beach can be reached in six minutes.This is a very nice place to stay,dont expect cool or modern,just excellent value in a great location.You can also use the pool at Irene 2 which is about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I loved Irene Pension 1! From Stavros picking me up at the port, to the location and the room, to the surprise slices of cake in my room one evening, to Stavros transporting me back to the port, it was a lovely experience. I'm only sad that I out so much I missed meeting Irene.

The room I had was a twin and was quite large. It had a very nice galley kitchen. The wifi went in and out a bit, but if I stepped out the door and sat on the patio - very pleasant! - it was fine.

On the ride from the port, Stavros pointed out the grocery store very near by and suggested things to see and do, all of which were spot on.

The walk in to town was about 10 minutes; the walk to Agios Georgios is about 15 minutes. All very convenient. The walk back to the hotel is a bit uphill, but not terribly steep.

All in all, a bargain and great value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The place to be if you want to spend some quiet time in a nice area. The owner Stavros who is a good fellow is always there to help you if you need advices on everything.
Our studio was really lovely, well located and really closed to the center of Naxos. Great people, authentic spirit of life. Not expensive. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Service outstanding. Stavros brought me homemade cakes and explained electric heating for showers when solar heating would not be enough. Laptop provided, free wifi. Room great, spotless, lovely decor, brill views. Located v close 2 several supermarkets, cafes, bread shops, veg shops, DVD rental place, pretty near old town and main seafront

liked: luxurious towels, fab views, room had windows in 2 walls so very light, room spacious, Stavros very welcoming and spoke v good English. Great price, v good value for money

disliked: nothing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Well situated in a quiet area and at 5 minutes by walk from the main place, we had a nice room with a big balcony and a little kitchen to prepare our breakfast. The host is very friendly, generous and available : the morning he brought excellent cake made by his mother and drives us from the place to the port and vice versa.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The rooms are great, spotless, beautiful! Even better is the care you receive at Irene. The owner picked us up in the middle of the night at 3.30 AM and drove us right where we belonged. Next day he surprised us with ice cream, day after with chocolate cake. You get the feeling to be part of the family and to be a cherished guest!

Absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irene Pension 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irene Pension 1

Address: Christos Area, Naxos Town 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irene Pension 1 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with kitchens TV, A/C, balcony, fridge, hairdryer. There is daily cleaning, hot water, 24 hr laundry service. Free transfer from the port. Some rooms with sea views. Pension Irene 1 recommended in lonely planet, Lets Go, Le Guide Routard. Good location, close to the bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Irene Pension 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irene Pension 1 Naxos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irene Pension 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.