We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely nothing bad to say about this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alkyoni Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alkyoni Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Georgios, Naxos Town 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely nothing bad to say about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I stayed in this hotel in 2006 between Athens and Santorini. The hotel was recommended by Matt Barrett's Greek Travel website and was suggested by the Greek travel company Fantasy Travel. It couldn't have worked out better.

When my wife and I arrived we noticed that the beach was roughly 100 meters away, and that our room faced the swimming pool and accompanying bar. The staff were courteous and professional, the room was clean (I don't remember a TV being in the room but didn't care either way), and the hotel is within walking distance to town and the hills (if you're up for climbing).

Most nights consisted of walking through Naxos Town and then returning to the hotel to sip ouzo on the porch of our room. I don't actually remember when the outdoor bar closed, if it did at all. There are several rental agencies located nearby for scooters, dirtbikes, dune buggies, and various aquatic sporting equipment; so there's something for everyone.

Overall: I really do have nothing negative to say about this hotel; everything went well and I don't remember a single issue that came up. I wish I could tell you about the breakfast but we never really managed to get up that early.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Close to Chora but away from all the bussle. Beautifully landscaped and quite close to the beach. Not all terraces and balconies are as private as ours was, but we loved relaxing among all the foliage. The staff was helpful and multilungual, though you don't have much contact with them if you don't seek them out. Breakfast was nice and can be taken poolside. Most beautiful hotel on the beach.

  • Liked — quiet but close to city
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We have just return from a trip to Turkey,Greece and Spain.In Greece we visit Naxos and stayed in this beautiful hotel right on the beach.Joanna at the front desk was very nice and help us with everything we needed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — a little smell in the w/c
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
be
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We had expected to have a nice and relaxing holidays in this hotel but unfortunately this was not the case.

The first night we had to sleep in an awful and extremely old room (the smell of the wc was just unbearable). But the real problem was that it was just above the restaurant and a huge professional cooker hood was on top of the room, which was turned on at 1.00 after midnigth and it was so noisy that noone could sleep (not to mention the smell of oil).

The next day we asked for another room, we were given one that was very good (the wc too small, but we were very pleased to have a decent room at the price of € 115).
Unfortunately that was not the end of our nightmares. Next night we couldn't sleep since the music at the bar was extremely loud until 2.00 after midnight. We again had to kindly ask them to turn it a bit down.

After that, no more surprises; our mood was however destroyed for the rest of our stay there.

A last comment: a huge hole unsuccessfully covered with some pieces of wood next to the pool was very dangerous especially since a lot of kids were around.

We would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — closeness to the main town
  • Disliked — the staff and the quality of some rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My friend and I just spent a fabulous week at the Alkoyni in July.The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. My friend had an issue with her credit card and received all the help she needed from Maria to have the card returned to her through a very slow and frustrating courier service. Maria was able to get the card into the proper hands so that my friend could finally retrieve her card after waitng 13 days for it at various ports and locations.
The Alkoyni grounds are lush and beautiful. I especially loved smelling the jasmine on the way up to my room each night. Sunsets are spectacular and St. George's Beach is very nice. I will be returning to the Alkoyni in the near furture.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

We planned a family holiday which included one grandma and one child plus numerous adults and we wanted to be as close as possible to the beach, yet have a pool and kitchenette. The hotel met our expectations and far beyond. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and even arranged car rental company who dropped a car at hotel and did the paperwork right there. It was very easy to arrange accommodations via email directly with Katerina via the hotel website.

The pool was wonderful and quiet throughout the day and evening. This is the only hotel on St George beach that is so close to the beach AND has a pool with a bar and restaurant which serves lunch and dinner. Oh... and breakfast is included and a great way to get to know your neighbors. We met numerous people who come back to the Alkyoni year after year. The supermarket is a short walk away with anything you might need and don't miss the outdoor movie theatre just around the corner. Windsurfing and boating facilities are just on the beach in front of the hotel.

The gardens are even more lush than the pictures on their website show and the rooms are clean and well maintained. If you've got to stay in touch with the outside world... they have a computer available in the lobby and wifi if you've got your laptop. Say hello to Katerina @ the desk, Sofia and Stamatoula for us. We wish we were poolside right now with a cold frappé.

  • Liked — Pool, rooms, air conditioner, staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This is a wonderful "beach hotel". It's situated a stone's throw from the beach and, after the stark scenary of Santorini, we certainly appeciated the almost lush landscape of the Alkyoni. They obviously take pride in maintaining very green grounds. They also serve a nice breakfast buffet. The rooms are mediocre at best (tiny) but certainly acceptable given that you will be on the beach or at the pool for most of your stay here. The restaurant at the beach (not associated with the hotel) is quiet nice for meals and has great food and a festive bar. Really, could not have been more pleased with this hotel. Also, has the friendliest housecats in Greece - we wanted to take them home. Also, be sure to check out the outdoor theater which is very close to the hotel. The theater owners will even order you up a pizza to be delivered during the movie if you like.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkyoni Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyoni Beach Hotel

Address: Agios Georgios, Naxos Town 84300, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyoni Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Alkyoni Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyoni Beach Hotel Naxos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkyoni Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.