We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alkyoni Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alkyoni Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Georgios, Naxos Town 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Naxos Town
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We have just return from a trip to Turkey,Greece and Spain.In Greece we visit Naxos and stayed in this beautiful hotel right on the beach.Joanna at the front desk was very nice and help us with everything we needed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — a little smell in the w/c
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
be
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

We had expected to have a nice and relaxing holidays in this hotel but unfortunately this was not the case.

The first night we had to sleep in an awful and extremely old room (the smell of the wc was just unbearable). But the real problem was that it was just above the restaurant and a huge professional cooker hood was on top of the room, which was turned on at 1.00 after midnigth and it was so noisy that noone could sleep (not to mention the smell of oil).

The next day we asked for another room, we were given one that was very good (the wc too small, but we were very pleased to have a decent room at the price of € 115).
Unfortunately that was not the end of our nightmares. Next night we couldn't sleep since the music at the bar was extremely loud until 2.00 after midnight. We again had to kindly ask them to turn it a bit down.

After that, no more surprises; our mood was however destroyed for the rest of our stay there.

A last comment: a huge hole unsuccessfully covered with some pieces of wood next to the pool was very dangerous especially since a lot of kids were around.

We would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — closeness to the main town
  • Disliked — the staff and the quality of some rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

My friend and I just spent a fabulous week at the Alkoyni in July.The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. My friend had an issue with her credit card and received all the help she needed from Maria to have the card returned to her through a very slow and frustrating courier service. Maria was able to get the card into the proper hands so that my friend could finally retrieve her card after waitng 13 days for it at various ports and locations.
The Alkoyni grounds are lush and beautiful. I especially loved smelling the jasmine on the way up to my room each night. Sunsets are spectacular and St. George's Beach is very nice. I will be returning to the Alkoyni in the near furture.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

We planned a family holiday which included one grandma and one child plus numerous adults and we wanted to be as close as possible to the beach, yet have a pool and kitchenette. The hotel met our expectations and far beyond. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and even arranged car rental company who dropped a car at hotel and did the paperwork right there. It was very easy to arrange accommodations via email directly with Katerina via the hotel website.

The pool was wonderful and quiet throughout the day and evening. This is the only hotel on St George beach that is so close to the beach AND has a pool with a bar and restaurant which serves lunch and dinner. Oh... and breakfast is included and a great way to get to know your neighbors. We met numerous people who come back to the Alkyoni year after year. The supermarket is a short walk away with anything you might need and don't miss the outdoor movie theatre just around the corner. Windsurfing and boating facilities are just on the beach in front of the hotel.

The gardens are even more lush than the pictures on their website show and the rooms are clean and well maintained. If you've got to stay in touch with the outside world... they have a computer available in the lobby and wifi if you've got your laptop. Say hello to Katerina @ the desk, Sofia and Stamatoula for us. We wish we were poolside right now with a cold frappé.

  • Liked — Pool, rooms, air conditioner, staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This is a wonderful "beach hotel". It's situated a stone's throw from the beach and, after the stark scenary of Santorini, we certainly appeciated the almost lush landscape of the Alkyoni. They obviously take pride in maintaining very green grounds. They also serve a nice breakfast buffet. The rooms are mediocre at best (tiny) but certainly acceptable given that you will be on the beach or at the pool for most of your stay here. The restaurant at the beach (not associated with the hotel) is quiet nice for meals and has great food and a festive bar. Really, could not have been more pleased with this hotel. Also, has the friendliest housecats in Greece - we wanted to take them home. Also, be sure to check out the outdoor theater which is very close to the hotel. The theater owners will even order you up a pizza to be delivered during the movie if you like.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NLGd
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Just back from Greece, where we stayed at this hotel for 6 days followed by 6 days in Akrotiri, Santorini.
This hotel has no comparison to the hotel where we stayed in Santorini ( see comments entered on 11 JUNE 2007 for the Hotel PARADISE in Akrotiri, Santorini, Greece).
We were given an ocean view room (recommend room number 38), the only bad thing:we had two beds instead of one big bed. Positive point was we had two balconies (one small one always sunny) and a bigger one with a small table, two chairs, where we drank some wine with olives and we could watch the sunset.
Close enough to Naxos "Town", where you can enjoy various restaurants at various prices (15minutes walk), and close enough to restaurants on the beach just a minute away. If you're into water sports, that's real close too. The beach is just so-so, saw better beaches. The pool NEVER smelled of chlorine (except only one night- they posted a sign to not go in it from10pm to 9am the next day). Pool always clean and refreshing. The only "pool problem" was when the barmaid occasionally brought her friends along and took full advantage of the pool, got a bit noisy and splashy. On the week-end, other young boys from the town arrived to also use the pool. Impossible to read and relax then. Bathroom a bit small and shower not practical but one doesnt live in the bathroom !
Breakfast variety also so-so, the lady in the restaurant always in a good mood. Had dinner there only one, a Greek night with varieties of Greek food and music.
On Sundays, there is limited "service" beds aren't made, but the garbage and towels are changed.
Towels are changed every day if you put them on the floor. They are new, white, clean and soft. Being that they didnt have too much rain, they asked guest to conserve watre, but I've seen these requests all over where there is sun, and this even goes back to 30 years ago, so no proble, there is no timer in the shower !
Sheets are changed every 2 or 3 days (more than what some other hotels do).
There are food markets close by, so you can buy your little things and your munchies .
Alot of German speaking people in Naxos.
A few strayed cats around but respectable towards the clientelle ! Don't forget to grab a slice of ham for them ! They are hungry and even eat bread (slab some butter) !
On our balcony, the birds would almost come to us to eat the moistened bread, don't forget them also !
Good to rent a motor-bike (same prices everywhere- 15euros for one day, heard they went for 20euros for 2 days..). Fell three times, so be careful.
Lots to visit, bring a jacket at night as gets chilly (in May/June).
Good eats everywhere, great home made ice cream in the center of town). Fashion boutiques, shoes, etc.
Avoid eating at the port - overly done with the prices. Avoid Nickos retaurant, not that good.
Naxos people are polite, welcoming, smiling.
Enjoy !

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — noisy pool on week-ends with young locals
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

The hotel is right on the beach and a 15-20 minute walk to Naxos Town. The room was small with a bed, small fridge, AC and closet. I had read about the lack of shower curtains and what we discovered is that the shower had a curtain, it was just too short and all the water sprays out – not quite sure why they would do this. The room is cleaned everyday, but the hotel had a notice that towels would be changed every 3 days and guests were asked to conserve water. On our last day, there was no water, but it returned a few hours later.

The hotel has a very nice pool next to the bar and restaurant. Unfortunately, we weren't crazy about their breakfast. You get a wide selection of cereal, breakfast breads, toast, boiled eggs, fruit and yoghurt, coffee and tea, but the food seemed very blah. On our first night, we enjoyed dinner at the pool bar with a view of the sunset over St. George beach. We had spanokopita, fresh fried fish with fries and calamari with a tomato pilaf. At the end of the meal, our server said, "I will bring you dessert." We took this to mean he was offering a complimentary dessert, but we later saw that he charged us. We paid the bill since it was under €30, but didn't tip. It was a disappointing end to a good meal.

Besides a few brochures, all of the tourist information was in German. But the lady at the reception was helpful and provided us the information we needed about getting a taxi to Agia Anna (€8) and the horseback tour (€45). Close by are beachfront bars, cafes and a sports club that offers windsurfing lessons and other sports. The hotel is near a busy road, so it would get noisy at times, but Naxos town can be noisy too.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Noisy location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alkyoni Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkyoni Beach Hotel

Address: Agios Georgios, Naxos Town 84300, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkyoni Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alkyoni Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkyoni Beach Hotel Naxos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alkyoni Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.