We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain George Rules (thankfully)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naxos Sailing Tours

Naxos Sailing Tours
Protopapadaki Street | Waterfront, Naxos Town 84300, Greece
+30 694 435 5717
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily sailing adventures with luxury sail yacht the "ANNABELLA"We set sail from Naxos and the surrounding islands and islets with Naxian Captain GEORGE FRAGISKOS on the luxury yacht "Annabella" to meet new friends, to share adventures and exciting experiences of a lifetime while you learn about historical monuments and thrilling myths that surround them..
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Captain George Rules (thankfully)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I grew up on the East Coast of the US sailing and racing with my Dad on many of his boats, including some transatlantic crossings, so I'm a skeptic when I get on a boat with my young children to do anything...but Captain George and his beautifully equipped Beneteau (15m or 45 feet) quickly put my mind at ease. The boat is a sturdy challenger to the Naxos winds, very comfortable, in apple pie order, we so enjoyed the other people on board, and George was the best combination of raconteur and safety obsessive that I can imagine, just what I wanted. Its clear he enjoys his boat and loves to sail...He also shared with me that he was a senior jet engine maintenance executive for Olympia for 25 years...That explained a lot to me. Everyone was allowed to steer as much as they wanted...so we all felt a certain special treatment. The destination of the small cyclades was magical...we ate en elegant lunch at a mountaintop taverna (reached by minibus thank you very much), I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. Topped off by a shot of Kiton at the end of the sail...Bravo!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    44
    4
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A lovely day at sea with Captain George!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great time onboard M/S Annabella with wonderful Captain George and his wife. It was not too crowded, which we really appreciated. We were a total of eight people onboard, which made for a comfortable - as well as social - day at sea. Captain George let everyone steer the boat, and he taught us the basics of both sailing and tying nautical knots.

We had the pleasure of the company of dolphins for a while, and we got to swim in beautiful, turqoise waters.

We can highly recommend this activity for everyone looking for a relaxing, but yet exciting, boat excursion.

Maria & Fredrik

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“SAILING WITH CAPTAIN GEORGE AND Y/S ANNABELLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a wonderful day spent with George, Katherina on Y/S Annabella. Words fail me.Their wonderful hospitality, Capt. George's unbelieveable knowledge of Naxos and the ocean is amazing. They went to so much trouble to make my 60th birthday celebration spectacular. This is one experience when on Naxos, you should not miss.
Thank you George.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best day in Naxos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We wanted to see some of the other islands and chose to go sailing instead of taking a ferry. It was the best day we had in Naxos for several reasons. It was very relaxing to go sailing, also a little adventurous since it was our first time to sail on the ocean! On the way we stopped at a nice little secluded bay with crystal clear water and took some time to go snorkeling there. The captain of the boat actually caught an octopus which was an experience in itself! We then set sail for a little fishermen's town where we had time to go for lunch and tasted the freshly caught octopus. We went off to see a little bit of the sights of the town and went for another swim before we headed back to the boat to meet up with the other 2 couples and the captain with his wife. On the way back we stopped at another bay for one more swim before we set sail to Naxos town. It was an incredible day! We would recommend it to anyone! We did a lot of fun things while we were in Naxos but this was definitely the best day we had.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous day of Sailing with Captain George on his S/Y Annabella :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This has been now our 3rd Sailing trip with Captain George and the S/Y Annabella.Not only has George the know-how, he also has a ton of knowledge about Naxos and the surrounding islands. George and his wife Kaiti always want to make sure, that they accommodate the needs of the people joining them on their sailing trip...you feel like a part of their extended family rather than a tourist just to be shown around the island and/or surrounding islands; both really care that you enjoy the day and the trip in itself...of course you are also "put to work on his yacht"...in that you get to stear the "Annabella", which just adds to the great experience and fun you have while on the boat....another one of the fun thingsnyouget to do: jump of the boat as many times as you want when docking at a bay you usually do not reach by car :)... we are stilll here for about 10+ days andbrest assured we already are planning our next trip with Captain George, his wife Kaiti, and the S/Y Annabella.... you have got to do it when hpin Naxos, it is so worth it!! :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naxos Sailing Tours also viewed

 

Been to Naxos Sailing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naxos Sailing Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.