We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the friendliest hotel in Greece (possibly the world)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grotta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grotta to your Saves list
Hotel Grotta
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hora, Naxos Town 84300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Naxos Town
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just the friendliest hotel in Greece (possibly the world)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The staff, food, location, cleanliness... Everything. Highly recommend this hotel. You are greeted with wine. Breakfast is very good. It's a short walk to the main strip with all the restaurants, but it's worth the peace and quote at night.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    86
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
81
435
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Yes this is the best hotel in Naxos. There isn't an outdoor pool, but you don't come to Naxos to stay by the pool. Hotel Grotta has a great view of Hora (the main town) and the sunset from the hill above. It is just a short five minute walk down a dirt path or a ten minute walk along the paved road to town. Remember to bring a small flashlight to make your travels easier. Naxos has so much variety and Hotel Grotta is a great base to explore it all. In our two weeks in Greece, this was the one place we hired a rental car. Driving out to the beaches and small villages of Naxos is a must. Our favorites where Mikri Beach for the kite surfers and Halki for the great shops. The quality and amount of food at breakfast cannot be beat. The free pickup from the port is a great bonus. When we return to Naxos, we will certainly stay with the wonderful family that runs Hotel Grotta.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great little hotel, close to town 5 min walk, lovely staff. I'm sure someone stays up baking all night preparing breakfast. I have never seen such a selection of food to suit all nationalities and all freshly baked. Owners cannot do enough and they are genuine in any offer to help. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were three nights at Hotel Grotta. We were so happy when we realized how close we were to the town versus where some of the other hotels we looked at were located. This was the perfect choice in the perfect location. The owners were there to help all of the time and were really great. As my wife said, it was much more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel and it was a short walk down the hill to the town of Naxo. The breakfast every morning was extensive and you could always find something you liked in the choices; probably over 20. The rooms are clean, while smaller; but protected from the winds that blew over Naxos. We slept great on the beds and the showers had good water pressure, though the water seemed to go where ever it wanted, including on the tile floor of the room. We really enjoyed the island of Naxos and the hotel was the perfect selection for our family on the island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights after our trip to Santorini.
The hotel is very clean and ideally located to discover the island. A short walk to the town center provides a wide range of restaurants, shops.
The most amazing is the staff so helpful and really accommodating.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel Grotta-yes, again. The family and staff are wonderful. We feel welcomed and genuinely cared for. We can see that other guests are too. The rooms are comfortable, charming and incredibly clean. We loved sitting in the patio and taking in the beautiful sea view every day. The breakfast is amazing. We have been spending the last 14 summers on Naxos and staying at Hotel Grotta. In the last few years, we had a baby and bring our daughter now. We love it there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recently stayed at Grotta after it being recommended by a fellow traveller. Nicoletta -one of the siblings now running Grotta- was the most gracious host I could ever have wished for. Her helpfulness and kindness were overwhelming- particularly as I was in need of medical assistance during my time there.She organised her brother to drive me to the local hospital(HE also was equally as kind and obliging) and constsantly checked on my condition!!
Nothing was too much trouble for them and it made my stay in Naxos all that much better. The home cooked tarts and cakes etc were to die for!! Breakfast was a feast of delights!!
Room service and housekeeping were also first class quality. I would recommend this hotel to ANYBODY. It deserves higher recognition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta

Address: Hora, Naxos Town 84300, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Naxos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Naxos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Naxos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grotta 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Hotel Naxos City
Hotel Grotta Naxos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.