We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal, excellent tastes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Axiotissa

Axiotissa
Kastraki 18th km Road to Alyko | On the Main Road Hora-Alyko, Naxos Town GR 84302, Greece
+30 2285 075107
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 103 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tavern with mediterrenean and greek cuisine
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great meal, excellent tastes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of the best places I be ever been. The food is well cooked, really tasty, big portions, reasonable prices! Don't miss it. Reservation needed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    29
    21
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Disappointment not only fm the execution of some recipes but more importantly from the behavior. Obviously you need to make a reservation as we did, but if someone is coming without reservation you can treat them in a better way and not having a face like trying to tell them " how you dare coming here without a reservation?"
Recipes have room for improvement, at least the dishes that we took, but the attitude must be more professional when someone is giving feedback. We were asked from the waiter and we said that one plate was not really how it should be.
We would expect to tell us that we will pass the comments to the chef but surprisingly we received the reply that this is a matter of taste.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axiotissa, Διευθυντής at Axiotissa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I am sorry that you were dissapointed but we are in a very difficult position when people come in Augoust without a reservation because we have to say that we can not serve them. We don't enjoy tell customers "no, we are full", our role is to do our best so that customers have a good time in our taverna.
On the other hand it is interesting to hear about the way that the recipes would be better, especially about recipes that we have invented. We insist about the fact that some criticism is a matter of taste, for example if somebody doesn't like fish, how can he/she judges if the monk fish or tuna carpaccio is good? Criterians are a matter of culture and cullinary experience, and this makes things more complicated and subjective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The fact that reservations are necessary in a simple island taverna rankles a bit but, all in all, a worthwhile experience. Loved the fava beans and the wine, the main courses were less impressive but still very tasty. Have to salute the fact that with so many customers prices remain reasonable

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Naxos...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We absolutely loved this place!
The ambience is quite nice and the staff friendly but I can't really say enough about the food!!!
The tabouleh was so tasty, light and fresh and their hummus was sooo good I wanted to cry! Our main courses were tasty beyond words as well, both times we visited the place.
Very reasonably priced...
We'd definitely recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

First, let clarify: this restaurant is not in Naxos City but going south to Kastraki.
Food is just great, made with lot of love, and using the best of local products of the island.
Attached a pic of the tomatoes which I also published on my Facebook just to remind mu friends how real tomatoes looks (unfortunately you cannot taste it over the net yet...)
Service is very good and friendly.
A real hidden gem for me!.
you should reserve in advance even for lunch... we hardly managed to get a table at 3pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Axiotissa also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Axiotissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axiotissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.