We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do in Naxos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Naxos Tour

Hidden Naxos Tour
Naxos Town, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Activities in Naxos Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NEW NEXT YEAR - THE HIDDEN NAXOS COOKERY CLASSES Watch this space for more,it's going to be fun! The Hidden Naxos (photo) Tour will show you a Naxos off the normal tourist tracks. Places you are unlikely to find or visit by yourself: traditional and unspoilt communities, abandoned villages, half-forgotten paths and unexpected finds, deserted monasteries, walks on ancient ways and lunch in a real Greek Taverna, serving food from their own farm. Every day is a different route and a new little adventure. No stress, no schedule...we stop where we like and for as long as we like. Your guide Stuart lives on Naxos and knows the island and it's people intimately and is full of useful and not so useful information, tall stories and dubious facts. Nonetheless, you will have a good time! He was also a professional travel photographer, so if you want some help with creating better images, just ask. But an interest in photography is not necessary to come along and have a great day out. Price 45 euro per person includes transport in a private car or minibus (small groups, max. 8) and pick-up from your accommodation or in town. Price does not include refreshments or lunch.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must do in Naxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I rarely write reviews , but this time I chose to , because this was such an enjoyable and interestinging experience! the tour with Stuart made all the difference in our vacation to Naxos.
Me and my friend left the children with our husbands and went with Stuart to find more about the small villages, the srories, the pictures , the history, the language, the authentic and healthy food...
This is Greece and Stuart knows about it and transgers it so well !!
Don't hesitate and send our regards to Stuart
Netta

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Naxos Town, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great day in Naxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a great way to see what lies beyond Chora Naxos and the popular beaches. (And there is a lot that lies just over the hills.) As luck would have it -- my husband and I ended up going on a private tour with Stuart. What fun! Stuart is knowledgeable about the history, politics, culture and people of this fascinating island. We saw everything from major historic site to a hidden unfinished picnic spot near a grove of olive trees that are well over 1,000 years old. I've never tasted mulberries before -- they taste great -- but make a terrible mess of your hands (well worth it). We learned the secret for cleaning your hands is to rub an unripe berry on them and wash.

Stuart was very relaxed and even stopped so we could take photos of sheep leaning into a wall pretending it there was shade.

If you are on the island -- spend a day with Stuart -- you won't regret it. It was a highlight of our time on this beautiful island.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“One of our best days on Naxos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stuart Thorpe took us on a interesting tour of central Naxos, covering areas of the island we hadn't been able to visit previously, and answered a whole stream of our questions. He provided the transport, but not the food, an intelligent arrangement which enabled us to order freely in the authentic country taverna he took us to. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A great tour of Naxos. We got to see and find out about lots of places we never would have found on our own. Stuart is very friendly and relaxed and quite happy to stop off along the way for us to take photos and admire the view.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I found Stuarts tour advertised on a board outside a closed up shop and after discussing it with my sister we thought it might be a fantastic way to see the countryside of Naxos. I called him that night and was able to book him for the following day as we were only there for 2 days. He picked us up promptly and from that moment until he dropped us off we felt like we were spending the day with a friend not a stranger. He took us to so many places that we would never have been able to see if we had been on our own. From, small churches and monasteries, to breathtaking lookouts with views over fruit and olive trees,to an open cut marble mine, so many things.We drove through and into and around some traditional sleepy villages, ate at a lovely little taverna restaurant in a town called Moni, had coffee with the locals in Kinidaros and all in all had a fabulous day.
Thanks again Stuart for taking us out at such short notice and showing us the Naxos that so many people would miss out on not only seeing but experiencing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Naxos Tour also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Naxos Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Naxos Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.