We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value and delicious traditional Greek food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maro's Taverna

Maro's Taverna
| Close to the Court Square of Hora Naxos, Naxos Town, Greece
+30.22850-25113
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 102 Restaurants in Naxos Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing value and delicious traditional Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went here on the recommendation of our host's father and were not disappointed. We arrived at around 21:00 and the place was almost full. The waitress took us to a table inside and although she was busy returned quickly to take our orders. The plates arrived without much delay and were large and piled high. Our meals were delicious as was the local wine. We enjoyed our visit so much we returned the next evening and were not disappointed. On both occasions the only thing that was tiny about our meals were the bills!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    101
    50
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still as good as aever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have reviewed this taverna before, it is still the cheapest and best, but not for those on a diet, the portions are huge!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Huge portions, good value, varied menu, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We ate here tonight as a group of 15. They were a bit slow taking our order, but the food came quickly.

The starters were HUGE and the portions of main courses were MASSIVE.

The prices were very reasonable - I paid €5.50 for some very tasty moussaka. The portion I was served was over 20 cm square. Easily enough for 2.

Everyone was pleased with their meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great homely and hearty meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Try the beef burger (essentially 3 beef patties without the bread) with cream sauce and mushrooms with Naxos' famous potatoes! Awesome stuff.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great homely and hearty meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Try the beef burger (essentially 3 beef patties without the bread) with cream sauce and mushrooms with Naxos' famous potatoes! Awesome stuff.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maro's Taverna also viewed

 
Naxos Town, Naxos
Naxos Town, Naxos
 

Been to Maro's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maro's Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.