We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel am Markt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel am Markt to your Saves list
Hotel am Markt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberstrasse 64+66, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I absolutely loved this hotel! Very spacious, charming, nice breakfast, perfect location, great staff! Definitley recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
68
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our first night for 9 travelers in Germany walking from the train station with steps under the rail tracks, approx 1.5 on cobble stone streets. Glorious town full of shops, cafes, bakeries, pubs, located blocks from the Rhine all easy walking.
The property was beautiful and just as pictures and displayed in ad, owner operator quickly warmed up after breaking our language barrier. Staff also warmed up as we broke the language barrier. Great food, baked goods, beverage and very comfortable rooms accomodating our group, with no elevators up to 4 floors of stairs. No AC but the rooms were comfortable for the night and windows open during the day. Other restaurants in the area and the air is full of fresh baked pasteries and breads of the nieghborhood.
I recomend this as long as you can carry you luggage up the stairs and can walk them.
Breathe taking views of the city from the 4th floor with larger rooms.

Room Tip: must be able to climb stairs and carry luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here on our way down to Austria and this was a stopover for the night, a decent drive from Calais to break the journey. And what an inspired choice it was! The village is absolutely charming, with its medieval buildings and narrow cobblestone streets and the castle on the hill towering over it. Also, the Rhine nearby adds to the scene.
We booked two rooms following reviews on here up to June. I cannot believe that there have been a couple of recent reviews slamming the hotel, as we had a marvellous stay. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and well furnished. The rooms were large and high- ceilinged. Although both rooms faced the main street, we heard not a peep from outside, either in the evening or the night. Maybe with the windows open, it might have been different, but Bacharach did not strike me as being a particularly noisy place anyway. The bathroom in our room was large with a jacuzzi bath, which everybody enjoyed. The beds were very comfortable. Yes, there are stairs only, but then this is precisely the charm of an old building with character. My 86 year old mother had no difficulties as we were only one floor up.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent

I would gladly stay here again and have not the slightest qualm about it. It is good that some picky individuals have written poor reviews, as it will make it easier to book the next time. ;-) But if this hotel is ranked eighth, the others above it must be incredible. I doubt whether they are in reality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Bacharach is a delightful small village along the Rhine and this hotel is right in the middle of everything. Owners were very helpful and friendly. The rrom was bright and clean and recently renovated. Although compact, it was well planned and worked very well, we had a room on the top floor at the corner, so could watch the comings and goings of the village while we sipped our local wine on the balcony. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed here overnight as part of a touring holiday. Nice spacious room with fridge. Lots of stairs which would make it difficult for the elderly or disabled. Previous reviews have referred to train noise and church bells which you can hear but the double glazing helps. There is no air con so would be even noisier on a hot summer night. Good continental breakfast.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The staff was not helpful at all. When I had a problem they just said " this is it, handle it."
I don't appreciate thi attitude especialyy after calling them before arriving to make sure everything in th ereservation is right.
The noise around the hotel is not barrable. Afternoon and evning there are lots of tourists.
Early in ther morning from 6AM trucks were unloaded right below my window, so a good night sleep is very difficult to achieve there, if at all...
AND thought they say they have WIFI- it's only in the lobby, which contains 2 chairs only.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The room was clean, but the bed left much to be desired. No pillowcases, for one. No top sheet, which seems common in Europe, which left a musty, scratchy cover on top. Half the light bulbs were out. I arranged to have laundry done, but the clothing was never picked up. When I brought it to the attention of the staff, I was met with no comment whatsoever.

I would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel am Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Markt

Address: Oberstrasse 64+66, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bacharach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Bacharach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Romantik Hotel is in the scenic market square of Bacharach am Rhein, just 24 miles from Frankfurt Hahn Airport. It offers fine local food and Wi-Fi via hotspot access.The non-smoking Hotel am Markt has brightly furnished, soundproofed rooms and apartments with cable TV and modern bathrooms.Continental breakfast is available each morning. Seasonal dishes and homemade cake are served in the Hotel am Markt's traditional-style restaurant with wine cellar.Free parking spaces are located near the Hotel am M ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel am Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Markt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel am Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.