We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't stay to eat in a place that stank of sewage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Posthof Bacharach

Posthof Bacharach
Oberstrasse 45-49, 55422 Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
0 67 43/9 47 18 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 24 Restaurants in Bacharach
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
WHITEHORSE
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“We couldn't stay to eat in a place that stank of sewage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We were surprised to see this place so highly rated but I think it is on the tourist map as many walking tours seem to go through here. We were underwhelmed by the venue and the menu but it was the stench that ultimately drove us away before we could even get an order in. There is just no way that we could eat in a place that smelled of unflushed toilet.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Very nice service, relaxing setting, delicious Flammkuchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had couple of drinks and shared a Flammkuchen - the German version of Pizza. We had the Mediterrenian version and it was delicious - the base being thin and crispy. The service was also very pleasant. It is lovely location with a big quiet yard. If we have a chance, would like to return for dinner.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slingerlands, New York
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“A find in a beautiful small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stumbled into Bacharach by chance off of a Rhine cruise. What a beautiful, relaxed town, and the Posthof was an equally wonderful chance find, especially given the difficulty of finding a variety of non-meat choices on a German menu. First, as is reviewed below, the place is historic and beautiful. We ate outside, in the central area, joining a couple at a large table. The service was friendly, and bilingual. We had a "flammkuchen", which here was similar to a pizza, with a very thin crust, cracker like at the edges. It had feta cheese, olives and greens. Wonderful. We also had a cheese platter, wonderful with the wine and beer. I hate to be stereotypical, and I cannot promise this when you go, but there were a group of elderly bicyclists enjoying their beer and singing which only added to the experience. I would definitely (please let me come back) head here again!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
630 helpful votes 630 helpful votes
“Friendly service and noticeble building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The service was friendly, the local food we ate was delicious. Its courtyard is quite large, so plenty of ousteating. The Posthof became a complex from various buildings. Its core is medieval, its current impression is based on 1593. Originally in possession of the Palatine counts, the building began its postal history in 1724 with the "Thurn und Taxis postal services ' establishment of postal services. The Bacharach post office had its seat in this building until 1987. The elongated, two-storey street side is divided by two carved Bay Windows with curly top gables in three-axle parts, a beautiful gate-passage with Mannerist ironwork and scrollwork and leads to the picturesque Court of several houses flanked with Gables, oriels, turrets and dominated by the Pfarrturm and Wernerkapelle. A wooden spiral staircase in an open corner of the building, a 13th-14th century half-timbered floor residential tower which was in 1431 unified with the former vicarige. The Winandturm, located in the centre, is one of the oldest preserved undamaged buildings on the Rhine. The still visible 15th century mural paintings in the Tower-Interior shows a pair: a paying guest with a drinking vessel and a landlady with a ladle.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posthof Bacharach also viewed

Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Posthof Bacharach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posthof Bacharach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.