We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprised! - a few dislikes though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Newport News at City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Newport News at City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Newport News at City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   740 Town Center Dr, Newport News, VA 23606   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Newport News
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Suprised! - a few dislikes though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I found this gem of a hotel nearby after going to the horrific Magnuson Hotel. My check in was less than 5 minutes. I was surprised at the parking fee of $6 though. The layout of the hotel and surrounding area is beautiful. Got to my room and it was nice and clean! Everything was just so beautiful and relaxing. Had a real warm feel to it. (Im very strict about cleanliness in hotel bathrooms and this one was perfect for me). I dont have any other complaints other than the fact I booked through Expedia and Expedia took their payment out my bank account and so did the Marriott for "incidentals". So I have 2 charges for a 1 night stay but the one from Marriott will be refunded. I will most certainly be returning for a future getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNManager, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear that you were able to enjoy everything that our great City Center area has to offer. Our housekeeping team was especially pleased to hear that your room met your high expectations as we hold ourselves to the same high standards. I do hope you have an opportunity to visit the Newport News Marriott at City Center again on any future trips to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    97
    31
    18
    10
See reviews for
67
56
18
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were in town for the Jazz Festival and booked here for a decent rate. Although I wasn't expecting one, our room had a beautiful view of the fountains! We had limited time between or arrival and the start of the show, so we decided to order room service. I'm not a fan of room service; long waits, ridiculous charges and food quality is usually not hot. I think I may have to change my mind. The young man arrived at the door with hot food in 20 minutes!!! I was so shocked I forgot to let him in the room he had to ask. And when I called back for additional condiments, he was there in 5 minutes!!! Sunday morning we took a nice walk around the fountains and a self tour of the hotel. You can tell the property is new, but the personal were well trained, seasoned professionals in the hospitality industry. There wasn't a need to remember a name and everyone was just fantastic! I travel to the Hampton area often, but this was my first stay at this hotel. I promise it won't be my last (see you 7/25). Congratulations, Marriott.... another jewel in the crown!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
On behalf of the entire Newport News Marriott team here in Virginia Beach, thank you for the positive comments you have shared. We are so pleased to hear about your wonderful stay with us and that we are your hotel of choice for the future! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Located in center city, which has nightlife options that you can walk to and some nice restaurants as well a quick 5 minute drive away. The staff was welcoming upon arrival and the hotel is very clean and updated. Rooms were on the larger side and very clean and comfortable. The staff in the bar and restaurant area was very friendly. Was happy to see that on the weekend the concierge lounge is closed and was given the Sunday brunch as a replacement, which was very good and had many selections to chose from.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your positive comments about your stay with us here at the Newport News Marriott. We could not agree with you more in your observations concerning how the Marriott combined with all that the Oyster Point area offers makes for a great experience. Again thank you for your comments, we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is a great hotel in the city center. For Marriott elite members there is a lounge on the 11th floor that is nice although it gets crowded during breakfast and has limited seating. The lobby was being renovated during my stay which was not a big deal. The staff is courteous and one of the managers, Mr. Manning, was very helpful and accommodating for one little problem I had. I am surprised the front desk clerk was not authorized to resolve the issue. You pay for parking, but it is worth it as you park in a parking structure that keeps the car cool during the 95 degree days.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and the upper floor rooms on the inside have a great view of a water fountain. I will definitely go back next time.

I enjoyed the Paragon movie theatre next door. Every seat in this theatre is a lazy boy chair and you can recline and put your feet up. You get a ticket discount if you show your Marriott room key.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNManager, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
The Newport News Marriott at City Center staff and management would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your comments concerning your stay.
We appreciate your willingness to accomodate our renovations as we are very much looking forward to the brand new finished product. You will be pleased to hear that the Concierge Lounge that you enjoyed is part of our renovation plan as well and we will be adding additional seating to assist with our breakfast crowds. I was glad to hear that I was able to assist you with the one small concern you had during your stay. Your additional comments concerning the rooms, the parking garage and the Paragon theater were all correct as well. They are all great values that certainly add to the quality of the City Center location. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to the Newport News area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed for a weekend visit while my wife attended a conference at Fort Monroe. The hotel was clean, rooms very nice and comfortable with top end amenities. Wonderfully comfortable beds. We had a fountain view room which was very nice at night to overlook. Loved all the little high end touches like small box with all the coffee and tea items and the comfortable chair with ottoman next to the window. If you are in the Newport News or Hampton area I would highly recommend this hotel, probably one of the nicest in the area and having the City Center right next door is very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a fountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNManager, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback and feelings about the Newport News Marriott at City Center. Your description of the hotel is exactly what we would like to portray to our guests. I was pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed themselves during your weekend in Newport News. I do hope that you choose to stay with us again during any future visits to the Newport News area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We were here with several other family members for a wedding. The location and the grounds were great, but being charged extra for parking and wifi (which are standard in every hotel/resort I've ever been to), left me unimpressed. There were also problems with having the rooms for the wedding ceremony and reception ready. After the ceremony, the hotel "clean up crew" misplaced some of the bride and grooms things. I felt like we paid a lot for lackluster service.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNManager, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I would like to first thank you and your family for making the decision to stay at the Newport News Marriott at City Center for the wedding event you attended. We take great pride in ensuring our guests are completely satisfied with their accomodations, especially when celebrating an event, such as a wedding.
I was pleased to hear that you found the hotel and accomodations to your liking. I certainly understand your feelings about the additional charges if you were unaware of them at the time you made your reservations. The parking garage is owned and operated by the City of Newport News and dictate the overnight parking charge for our guests. The internet charge, while is is given away at many limited service properties, it is a Marriott standard at their full service hotels to charge for the internet.
I apologize in regards to the room and event not being ready for you when it was needed and for a few of the items being misplaced after the event. This is certainly something we will look into as we want to use this opportunity to improve our service for the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on the event and for choosing to stay at the Newport News Marriott at City Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is fairly new. Everything is new and fresh. As with all Marriott's this is a full service hotel. The rooms, staff and food were all top notch. The fountains outside the hotel are beautiful. If working in this area again I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Marriott Newport News at City Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Newport News Marriott! We were excited to hear that not only was our team able to exceed your expectations, but that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Newport News at City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Newport News at City Center

Address: 740 Town Center Dr, Newport News, VA 23606
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport News
#8 Family Hotel in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Newport News at City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Newport News at City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Newport News At City Hotel Newport News
Newport News Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Newport News at City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.