We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Newport News

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Newport News to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Newport News
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   943 J. Clyde Morris Blvd., Newport News, VA 23601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Newport News
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed two nights here while on vacation and enjoyed it completely. Every staff member we came into contact with was extremely friendly and polite. The bed was so comfortable and the room was spacious. I would definitely make this my first choice if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay while you were on vacation. Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Newport News.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    41
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
16
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We're new to Holiday Inns due to company travel cutbacks. This one may have changed my mind about the chain, they do a good job here.

The front desk was very friendly and efficient and had our two rooms checked in quickly.

My room was spotless and I slept like a rock. Mattress was a pillowtop with a thick mattress pad under very nice sheets. Bathroom linens were very acceptable. Desk chair is very comfortable, better than some of junk the higher-priced chains put in the rooms.

I didn't try the attached Italian restaurant but heard good things about it from locals.

Not much else to say, just a refreshing stay in a very nice hotel (and I stay in many). I saw absolutely nothing to discourage me from staying here again, and likely will next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again in Newport News soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I book this hotel out of desperation. It was the only place close to a conference I was attending. I arrived late and was greeted by the most wonderful clerk who had my reservation out and waiting. In no time I was getting directions to my room and keys. The room was clean and very comfy. I loved the large walk in shower instead of a tub. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was delicious and staff was very attentive.

I was very pleasantly surprise at this hotel. Would return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast and staff. Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in Newport News again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was roomy, beds nice, pillows soft and the towels were amazingly fluffy. (Clean but without reeking of bleach and stiffness.) Loved the real bathmat that didn't slide all over the tile. Water pressure great. If I had to find a complaint, it would only be that there wasn't a freezer in our in-room fridge and that the entrance was a bit confusing - we nearly got back on I-64! Lots of nice restaurants nearby. (And shopping - but my husband wouldn't take me, teehee!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our bathroom amenities and pillows! Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon in Newport News!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed for a conference I attended at the Marriott oyster point. It was about give mins away. The hotel is right off rt 64. Very close stores and restaurants. I booked on Priceline secret hotel and it was $40 a night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon in Newport News!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I checked into the hotel without issues, but after the first night I found multiple small bugs on the bed that luckily I had not been sleeping in (there were two beds in my room). After finding these bugs, I took some pictures of them and searched them on google to find out what they were. They were bed bugs. I counted seven different bed bugs throughout the mattress and coming out from behind the headboard. When I contacted the front desk to let them know they quickly moved me to another room. Typically when I have been inconvenienced by a hotel and they move your room they offer to help you move your luggage, but that is not why I am complaining. The next morning I am awoken by a phone call at 8am from the general manager of the hotel, telling me the rooms are newly re done and this shouldnt have happened and there was an exterminator coming that same day to take care of the problem. The reason I am writing is because instead of offering to make this right, the gm only called and woke me up to tell me it shouldnt have happened as the rooms are new. Now i am stuck having to wash all of my clothes while on the road, which is not cheap or convenient. Thanks a lot Newport News Holiday Inn, i hope i can clean all of my stuff well enough that I dont bring any of your nasty bugs home with me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn Newport News. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. As we mentioned when you stayed with us, there were no signs of bed bugs in your room. We had exterminators come out to the hotel while you were still on property and they confirmed that there were no bed bugs in your room or our hotel. The pictures that you have uploaded with your review are not of our hotel. We do not have that bedding in our rooms. I have contacted Trip Advisor in hopes that this review be removed as it is false. We are sorry again that you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've had a very pleasant stay here. Upon arrival, we were greeted promptly and were allowed to check in early, as soon as they had rooms available. The manager was very cordial to us. I would stay here again, the rooms are clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loni C, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Newport News, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Holiday Inn & Suites Newport News. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again soon next time you are in the area! Thank you for your business and thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Newport News? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Newport News

Address: 943 J. Clyde Morris Blvd., Newport News, VA 23601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newport News
#6 Business Hotel in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Newport News 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Newport News is adjacent to City Center at Oyster Point - the business hub of Newport News - and only 4 miles from Newport News International Airport. Our hotel is convenient to the largest corporations and military bases in Newport News and Hampton, including: Northrop Grumman - Newport News Shipbuilding, Ferguson Enterprises, Siemens, Riverside Regional Medical Center, Canon, Boeing, Langley Air Force Base, NASA, and Ft. Eustis. In addition to the corporations and military bases in our area, Christopher Newport University, Ferguson Center for the Arts, Hampton University, and the Hampton Roads Convention Center are all nearby our hotel. While you are here on business, enjoy our free high-speed Internet, large in-room work space, and our on-site restaurant Fiorello Italian Restaurant. For families and visitors to the Newport News/Williamsburg region, our central location to Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, and the celebrations of the 400th anniversary of Jamestown are sure to make your vacation one to remember. The hotel features one meeting room for banquet accommodations for up to 40 people. Staying at the award-winning Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Newport News puts you in the middle of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Newport News reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Newport News Hotel Newport News
Newport News Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Newport News, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.