We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Le Chatelet, 73550 Meribel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great apartments, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

These apartments were excellent, great location, excellent staff. There was just 2 of us in this 2-5 person apt. It was lovely for 2 but would be rather cramped for 5 adults!

Kitchen- Clean, well equiped. Icludes- Halogen hob, microwave, fdishwasher. Full range of kitchen utensils. Clean tea towels, sponge, dishcloth, washing up liquid and dishwasher tabs too.

Bathroom-New suite, powerful shower. Heated towel rail, hairdryer. All towels provided PLUS 2 lovely fluffy dressing gowns!

Bedroom- 2 twin beds and 1 pull down bunk. Smallish in size but fine. 2 wardrobes + hangers.

Lounge/Dining room- Free Wifi, comfy sofa (pull out bed) TV (no English channels!) Nice decor.

Reception staff are helpful. You can order things from the bakery in the eve (before 7pm) and they are delivered fresh to reception in the morning. Also free hire of :games, DVDs, fondue & raclette kits.

Heated ski lockers are great & is ski-in ski-out.

Mottaret itself is quite quiet and if you are looking for a wild apres-ski it is probably not for you. There are some nice restaurants and bars and one 'european' night club.
There's a free bus that runs between Meribel & Mottaret.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    86
    27
    15
    5
See reviews for
124
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We just spent a week at P&V Premium Les Crets with our 3 kids. We were very disappointed about the small size and poor quality of the apartment, rather worn out furniture and minimal decoration (don't trust the pictures on their website), and so so cleaning (dirty carpet and dishes upon arrival). Worst was that they located us above a unit occupied by 5 or 6 young adults who were noisy until late at night. We asked to be relocated after the first night but were told by management that it was not possible as all similar apartments were full but they promised they would talk with our noisy neighbours. If should have insisted as the following days were no better and my husband had to argue with the occupants downstairs serveral times afterward in the middle of the night. Not a good way to spend your vacation with young kids. We complained again with reception on check out day and management did not even take a minute to step out of her office and discuss with us. I really wonder why this is classified as a Premium location. We stayed at MGM Chamonix a few years ago and the building, decoration and management were of way better standards. Only upside is the ski but just expect a standard 2 star P&V experience and try not to have to pay for the premium !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post an account of your stay on Tripadvisor. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your apartment. Our website and brochure do outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available. And we are sorry to hear that the level of cleanliness did not meet our own high expectations and standards. In regards to the noise level, we do have a "no noise after 10pm" policy at our residences but regret that in this case our staff did not enforce it. We have logged your review and passed your feedback on to head office and our management teams. If a customer is unhappy with a room they are allocated we will always endeavour to find a replacement room that is adequate and suits their needs. This should have happened in your instance and we sincerely regret this was not the case during your stay. We hope this apology goes some way to compensating for the negative points within your review, please rest assured that your feedback has been logged and passed on to the Management of the Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Just back from Les Crets. Have stayed in a few P&V's and this one is up there with the best.

We had a really good room, with double window frontage, so it was lovely and light. Used the double sofa bed so didn't use the upstairs twin bedroom. The kitchen is small but fine and the dining table and sofa look out into the valley. The views are the best thing here - open the curtains, let the sun stream in, watch the skiers - fantastic! The residence has had a refurb so it's nice and bright and things work - including the heated ski lockers, which is rare!

Free wifi a bonus.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

The location is great and the funicular very handy, it wasn't broken once while we were there and we never had to wait at all.

The ski out is fine for most people but only reasonable skiers can ski back at night as it's on a very busy red which is quite challenging, definitely not one for beginners. We didn't have great snow conditions (mid Jan 2011) as it was bright sunshine every day, the re had been snow the first night but the temperature went up to 10c and everything melted then froze. As a consequence this run (Aigle) was like an ice rink especially at the bottom.

In softer snow I'd do it more often!

If you haven't been to Meribel, this is a great location with fast lifts and everything very well linked - you can ski for miles and miles. Mottaret benefits from being higher up. It snowed at the end of our stay and everything freshened up but it didn't reach down to Meribel village.

We were also pleasantly surprised at the prices - drinks cheapest we've found in French Alps.

One last point, Le Corbelys restaurant at the top of St Martin 1 gondola/bottom of St Martin 2 chairlift, is well worth a visit, top restaurant and great for just drinks too.

Would definitely recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed here in January 2011....in a 2 bedroomed unit. Really lovely apartment with lots of space. In fact it really had 3 bedrooms....a double, and a twin with an adjoining single. There is parking available. The apartment is ski-in, ski out, but the ski-in means getting back to Mottaret base before the drag lift on the nearest slope closes. Missing this means a bit of a trudge to the Funiculaire.
There is a 8 a 8 supermarche close....at the bottom of the Funiculaire. Bread & Croissants are available at reception.
Re: previous comments about the beds. They are firm, but we found them very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I stayed in Les Crets Residence in Meribel Mottaret, France in January this year.
The accommodation was very good and well equipped. It is close to restaurants, pizza places and bars. It is also really close (5 min walk) to Meribel Mottaret skiing resort which is a great one. From Meribel Mottaret you can actually go to Val Thorens and Courchevel which are both really good resorts too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Having stayed at the Hameu in the past this was pure luxury. The apartment we had, had a room with twin beds (and some strange bunk thing in the wall for a 3rd bed) and a pull out sofa bed in the lounge area, 1 bathroom with a seperate toilet, and a decent sized kitchen area. The apartment we had also had great views over Motteret from the balcony, and it really was ski in/out. Brilliant.

The apartments are accessed as has been mentioned before by a small funicular railway that can be a pain with the luggage, but once you are settled in its no problem at all.

The single beds in the bedroom were the hardest beds I have ever slept in. If you read this review before you go, and the people you are travelling with havent, make sure you bag the pull out sofa bed, as its bigger and is actually sprung!

Theres a pizza delivery service in the area, and you can order fresh breads for the morning in reception. The reception staff were all very friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

I went with my husband in Feb for a week's skiing in Meribel Mottaret / Meribel. The apartment itself (a 4/5 sleeper) was fine but it would be a real squeeze for 4-5, unless you knew each other very well! New-ish, nicely decorated, everything worked, welcome pack of cleaning stuff etc. Nice balcony too (with 1 chair!). Only downside is the bed is RIDICULOUSLY hard. We ended up sleeping on the lounge sofa-bed which was only a little better - like sleeping on concrete; even my heavy sleeping husband really suffered which is not want to need after a day on the slopes. The complex itself is fine too although its pretty lifeless and not warm or welcoming in any way; functional. Reception is only open for a few hours a day and there is nothing going on there. Its next door to the sister apts (La Tueda). The downstairs ski-locker room was useful.

Its a 2-min funicular ride down to Mottaret which I really liked as a place. It is pretty quiet though - not for party goers. There is a mini-mart which has all you need and is reasonable, the Brizolee restuarant next to the funicular is the best in the town, the pub a few doors down also has good food and is warm and welcoming. Avoid the Mont-Vallon Hotel offshoots (like the Chauss Bar - completely overpriced for what is was, eg €22 for a tiny lunch portion of pasta). Ski hire shops everywhere; we booked online before we went but there was no need.

And the skiing is good there too - a wide range of lifts are about 5 mins walk (in ski-boots!) from the bottom of the funicular and you can ski to Meribel Centre too where there is more going on. The new Spa there at the Olympic Centre though is pretty small so only go there if you are desperate for a sauna (single sex) and jacuzzi (mixed).

Nice walk to be had around the nature reserve lake too which is very nice, if you fancy a change - there is a little cafe there too.

I wouldn't recommend the ESF ski school there personally, especially if you're English. I overheard much better instructors, eg from Next Generation.

We got the Eurostar to Moutiers and an efficient but expensive (€73) cab to the resort which took 30 mins so that was all really easy.

Would go again.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets

Address: Le Chatelet, 73550 Meribel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Meribel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of “The 3 Vallées”Residence "easy access to slopes"Residence with spacious and comfortable standing apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets Hotel Meribel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Crets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.