We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, poor service if you are not russian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mont Vallon

Hotel Mont Vallon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mont Vallon to your Saves list
Hotel Mont Vallon
73550 Meribel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Meribel
Glyfada, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location, poor service if you are not russian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel several times, either travelling as a couple or as a family. Fortunately I am fluent in French, a fact that made all the difference in having this "extra service care" which was not visible to other guests. Of course the Russians are all over the place because the prices are extravagant so not many Europeans can afford the cost. You could hear them singing Balalaika every afternoon near the fireplace, loud as they usually are, drinking heavily and taking over totally not only the space but also the air that you breath. If you are dreaming peace and quiet or family board games next to the fire, just go away. Not your cup of tea. Food was acceptable although the menu was sometimes too complicated and too gourmet for little ones (and no alternatives available) however the desserts buffet was awesome. Le Shuss is much more interesting for fondue or pierrade but be prepared to smell as if you were sleeping in the kitchen for a month (I left my jeans outside on the balcony for 2 days and the smell was still there). The service is overall average and sometimes below average. Cleanliness is not their strong point anyway (being French), elevators too slow, room service slower than death, facts which make it hard to believe it's actually a four star hotel. However I must say that all the times I have stayed there (more than 6 to be honest in the past 10 years) I had a great time because the location is so super, the views so breathtaking, the desserts so mouthwatering, breakfast abundant and with such a remarkable buffet in all aspects that you kind of balance the negatives and keep good memories of it all. Remember, if you are seeking quiet or are anti-russian for some reason, don't even think about it. You will end up jumping out of the window!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The worst experience of my life.
The hotel is tragic because is dirty and its smells awful.
The stuff is no where.
My room was very small and everything in the room was broken.
I stayed there for three days the New Year's Eve 28-1/1/2013..

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I'll start with the worst thing. I got my period during the time I was there, hence, the sheets were spoiled with blood...I therefore remove the sheet, feeling sorry for the cleaner and wanting to be very clear, and put it on the floor. When I go to bed at night the same sheet has been put back. I'm too tired to go down to the reception and we wait til next day, lets see if they change the sheets. No, they don't, so we have to go to the reception in order to the cleaning staff there to change the sheets.

We stayed there during a skiweekend in February. Great ski-in skiout, nice with a pool, stupidly built, you have things, road blocks covering the view of the mountains... And the feeling of simplicity just didn't go away. Looks good indeed, but its not quality and you feel that it's just a surface and built as cheap as possible. If you get a good bargain, sure, try it, you might not notice or be more accepting if its cheap.

If you stay as a family with a kitchen, you need to bring everything, there were 4 cups for coffe, and 4 glasses for drinking. (So you can use and pay for what they offer in the mini-bar) That's it. The restaurant offers pizza that is good, but besides that the menu is not very interesting.

The poolarea is not proportioned for the amounts of guest, it gets crowded in the showers, mix of men and women and its very intimate, its hard not to brush towards each other in the existing "pair-shower"

The location requieres a car.

If you forget your earrings at the pool, don't expect to get them back, even though the pool closed 15 minutes after you left them there.

Staff tried to be friendly, but you lack some kind of warmth.

A disappointment if you are looking for that extra care. You know that someone wants to make money, and that you should pay the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had a week here while skiing. The hotel is comfortable and very well situated for access to the lifts and slopes. The room we had was on the top floor and not as cramped as most rooms are in ski resorts - important to have lots of room and storage when you have so many clothes and changes of clothing. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food good, but we had a couple of reservations:

Firstly the free wifi was the slowest that I have ever encountered in a hotel. I saw several reviews in earlier years objecting to the wifi charges. I don't know if internet access is now free because it was always awful, or because it is now free it has been overloaded with users. Either way, don't rely on it. You may just be able to read the odd email if you wait for an hour or two; don't expect more than that. The hotel really needs to fix this.

Secondly there was a choice of restaurants, but a difficult one. The gourmet restaurant was good, but expensive. What we found less attractive was that the cheapest bottles on the wine list were around £50 and prices went off steeply after that. The brasserie had a very limited menu of grills and hamburgers - it had a cheaper selection of wines, though still fairly expensive by our standards.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

The hotel is not children friendly at all, I dont know why they accept children at this hotel for the horrible behaviour they have with them
No decoration, all fashioned furniture
Unsuable fitness and spa facilities
Only good thing about this hotel is the perfect location in short

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

apart from a good location really close to the lifts in Meribel-Mottaret, this hotel has precious little going for it. The decor looks dated and tired, the service is indifferent at best, they rip you off on drinks prices at dinner time and the spa/hammam/leisure centre is at an urgent need of a refit. Basically it's a 2.5/3-star hotel mascarading as a four-star property, and there simply is no justification for the price of EUR410 a night that we paid. the bottom line is - steer well clear!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I can't argue that the prrices are steep but compared to hotels down at Meribel Centre, you are getting a good deal when you throw food in.
We traveled with a 4 month old baby and his gran as child care and the staff were both welcoming and accomodating to the specific needs of a young child, even digging a kettle out for us to prepare powder milk.
If you are looking for proximity to Meribel's gap year kid night life then don't stay here but if you are looking for a hotel with easy access to the lifts to be the 1st up the hill then this is spot on. It's not a chic city hotel either but compared to some of the boxes we have stayed in in the alps, it was roomy enough with a south facing balcony which is a better attraction than the limited English offering on the TV.
Would we go back, probably especially as the hotel accomodation in Meribel that will accomodate you for a long weekend is limited.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mont Vallon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mont Vallon

Address: 73550 Meribel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Meribel
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mont Vallon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Vallon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mont Vallon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.