We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise, total disrespect of staff and spoiled holidays” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret to your Saves list
Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Le Hameau du Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Meribel
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Noise, total disrespect of staff and spoiled holidays”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

As it is pointed out in most reviews, the location is good, just two steps to the slopes. I would not say that this is advantage that the residence has, as most other residences and hotels have such location in Mottaret.
You will be very lucky if you will accommodate on the first floor. But we had an apartment just under the roof what means to lift up on the floor E + walk up the stairs, moreover the corridors, which are like open balconies, are not cleaned after snow and you will have to walk on the ice, which is really dangerous. You’ll have to walk every day this route when you are in ski shoes before skiing and after skiing, and when on your arrival and departure you have your luggage and ski/snowboard… Ok, value for money.
However the biggest claim is to staff and management of the residence, who are not responsible for anything what is happening on the territory and if during your stay you have troubles - “it is not their (management’s) problem”. Noise and screams of drunk young people will accompany your stay from evenings till mornings. We experienced a very bad incident in one of the evenings and neither receptionists nor police even did not help us: reception was closed at that time, and police (we made a call on number 17) did not speak English and did not come. So we stayed with our problem on our own. Next morning we informed the staff at the reception and the management about the happened incident, but they even did not excuse and they were quite rude with us. It was the first (and hope the last) time in my life when I had such disrespectful treatment to me.
All in all, if you are older than 26, if you come with your family, with little (and not little) children, if you care about your safety and calmness, do not stay here! Better pay a little more and choose proper accommodation that won’t spoil your holidays. Have self-respect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
28
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Check In:

We got to the Apartment block at around 6pm after a mammoth journey up the hill. There had been an accident and heavy snowfall just before we arrived so the roads were precarious and a lot of cars were slipping about. There was a huge traffic jam all the way up the hill. We tried to check into our 2 rooms but the guy at the desk made a mistake and tried to charge us for a second room we had already paid for!

We eventually got it sorted out and got our parking key. We made our way back down what was a single track road (because of all the snow) only to find that our car, because of the roof box, did not fit in the car park! We caused an even larger jam having to take the roof box off and drive in like that.

The Rooms:

We had 2 rooms; one had recently been done up with laminate flooring and a new bathroom. The other was old carpets and an older bathroom. Both rooms had 4 beds, a small table which had 4 chairs.

In the older room there was absolutely no storage space, no cupboards or chest of drawers so we were living out of our suitcases for the week. The other had ample storage but no where near enough for 4 people.

We split up and had 4 people in the older room which was a place for crashing and 2 in the newer room so we had a social area. The rooms are split into 2 compartments with a sliding door. We used one side for socialising. If there were 4 people in both rooms there would be no space at all for socialising!

The kitchen was basic, but better than we've had in the past. There was a microvave / combi oven and 2 hobs (which take forever to heat up). There was a coffee maker but no kettle in either room. No cups/mugs suitable for tea. Lots of glasses of various sizes, plates and cutlery.

We were given sheets to make up the beds. There were no duvets but instead lots of blankets in the room. We put them back where we found them at the end of the week... I'm not entirely sure if they get washed/replaced between guests moving in/out. The pillows were very small.


Location:

Our apartment block, 'le boulevard', which is the main one, was fantastic for skiing. Once you leave the ski locker area (which there is space for skis and poles but no boots, we left boots under the bathroom sink) it takes no more than a minute to walk onto the slope where you can ski directly into Mottaret. On the way back you ski to literally (and I mean literally) a metre away from the door. Absolutely fantastic.

Outside the reception there is a bus stop which has regular, free buses into Mottaret and Meribel. These run up until around 11:30pm at night. We took a taxi back one night at around 2am from Meribel which cost 36 Euros for 6 people.

Other Information:

There is a small shop in the complex where you can get all the necessities. It is quite pricey for food but alcohol is very reasonable!

Avoid the on-site restaurant next to the shop! We got taken to our table straightaway. After 15 minutes we asked if we could order drinks. The guy came back 10 minutes later to take the order. Would not take food order at the same time. Came back 5 minutes later with the drinks. Then took another 5 minutes to take the food order.

People around us were having other issues. Food was arriving cold and at different times. The waiter snapped at a customer for asking if they could have their bill split into different parts.

Our food was actually very good (although we asked for no mushrooms on both calzones, which the waiter confirmed but they came with mushrooms) and arrived quickly after we ordered it. THe prices were very good compared to Meribel and Mottaret.

The reception staff are useless. They ahve no idea what they are doing and seemingly try to make everything as difficult as possible for you! Check in opens at 4:30pm and you need to be out your room by 10am on day of departure. You need to book a check-out time in advance so they can come and check your rooms. They got quite cranky as we asked for a specific time! We did not want to get up at 7:30 for rooms to be checked when we didn't leave until 9am! The check was very quick though and no problems.

We thought that both of our rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Le Boulevard is the main part and great for ski in/out and getting the bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here during the Christmas week of 2011. This wasn't the first time we went to Mottaret for skiing but was the first time staying at Le Hameau apartments (other than meeting friends there), and it will probably be the last one. The only positive feedbacks I can give are the location and the staff who have been very helpful and friendly. Be prepared that you may have to wait till 4:30 on your arrival day to get into the apartment, not to mention about the queue at the reception. You can ski in/out down the Mottaret centre which is ideal for access to various slopes in 3 Valleys. The apartment we stayed in was very old. It was meant to accommodate in 5 people. It was extremely small and missing some of the key appliances like kettle, hair dryer, bath curtain etc, etc. So, if you want to stay there, don’t forget to take your hair dryer and kettle with you. Also, sometimes it was difficult to get hot water in the morning. There is a laundry room on the ground floor at the reception area, where we have had some of our clothes stolen. Toilets and common areas are not hygienic at all. The bar at the reception area has recently (in Summer 2011) been converted to a ski equipment rental shop and has lost much of its character. Wifi is only available in the reception area for a fee of 5 euro a day (or 20 euro for a week) and only one machine can login with the provided userid at a time. If you have a laptop and a smart phone/handheld device, I would recommend you to purchase the wifi daily or bring all your info/mails into one machine and get it weekly. There is a supermarket which is open late hours and a few of restaurants you can dine. I would definitely recommend you to explore other apartments/options in the area.

Room Tip: Check your accommodation directly speaking with someone from Le Hameau before you book. Apparently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed in these apartments many times, they are basic but in an excellent location and very competitive prices for Motteret. The 'Hameau" has a few reasonable restaurants, supermarket and a bar that is quite nice although the bar was recently renovated and lost much of it's character.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Booked this trip "last minute"..... literally! I ahd never been skiing before so didnt really know what to expect. The appartments are high up on the mountain and are ideal for access to the slopes, "ski in, ski out" is exactly what you get! A blue run at the rear of the buildings takes you first to Mottaret, then onto an greeen route to Meribel, where there are lifts to all the major runs, and a competent skier could do the journey in 20 mins or less. The rooms are basic, and very warm! The on site ski hire shops seem a little expensive, would pay to shop around on line for boot and ski hire. We booked with crystal and we were pestered on the journey from the airport by the rep, pushing the full weeks lift pass, despite us asking for information about routes for beginners (me), which were totally disregarded. Luckily, we didnt buy the full pass which would have equated to a waste of money, but took advantage of the day and mini passes, which were more than adequate for my "beginners" needs, and gave access to some lovely runs. We also asked about family pass discounts, to be told that we didnt qualify as we didnt share the same surname (eh????). Thats my only gripe, pushy rep. The rooms are a case of "you get what you paid for", adequate and warm. Not much to do in the evenings,but then again we were all shattered, and early nights were the norm. Free bus to meribel and free gondola from Motaret all very handy. Paid for wifi only available in the reception area, but we logged onto a signal from our room, albeit a little dearer, but accessable from the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on this site, I was worried what the apartment was going to be like. But it was really good and I'm surprised at so many bad experiences reported here. I think that maybe some people are used to staying in chalets or hotels which isnt a fair comparison because obviously you don't get the same level of service in a self-catered apartment.

The location is excellent - quiet and right next to the slopes (although it is quite a big complex so there is a bit of luck involved in whether you are 10m or 100m from the slopes). There is a good-sized bar, supermarket, newagent, pool tables (flat!) and a few ski hire shops in the apartment complex and easy access to Mottaret via cable car (till 7:30pm) and bus (till ~ 11:30pm). If you are looking for more nightlife, you will probably want to go down to Meribel which is a few miles down the valley. Contrary to other comments, most of the staff spoke perfect English and they were all very friendly - however, a lot of French people stay here (more than in Meribel) and it is in France so obviously you need to be able to speak a few words of basic French (or be prepared to mime and point!) in case you meet the odd person whose English isnt so good.

Our apartment was clean, well-decorated and well-equipped and the standard size for a 4-person self-catered apartments in the 3 valleys - not huge but big enough. It had a balcony with a good view and was a short walk to the slopes and all the services.

Minor negative points were that we had to wait till 4:30 on arrival day to get into the apartment (and even then there was a queue at reception), was sometimes difficult to get hot water in the morning (but plentiful in the evening) and there were only a couple of TV channels in English (NB you have to pay 30 € extra for the TV, and a few € for towels). (Also, we met an English lad who had been there for the season and had his room broken into and a lot of money stolen - we felt perfectly secure but I wouldnt leave large quantities of money in the room unattended just in case. I'm sure the same applies wherever you stay.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The appartment was basic but perfectly sufficient for our needs. It was clean and tidy and had quite a homely feel. The kitchen was small and did not have an oven, but perfectly adequate for cooking pasta etc. Most appartments have balconies and ours had a beautiful view of the mountains. There was room to sleep four but we had just two of us in the bedroom area. The lounge area offered two more single beds. The appartments have a sliding door to separate it into two bedrooms. I imagine with four people it could be a little crowded, but for two there was more than enough space.

We booked with Ski World which meant we did not have to pay for bedsheets. If you book direct be prepared to pay for these and make up the bed yourself. Also be prepared to pay the resrt tax when you arrive - about 16 Euros for 2 people for one week.

I felt some of the reviews did not do this place justice. It is in a great location for skiing as you could ski in/out. It was quite isolated, but the quiet location offered a peaceful nights sleep. If you want to venture down to Meribel for a more lively drink/meal there are free buses running until midnight, but make sure you pick up a timetable as they are about every 40 mins in the evening.

The appartments are located at the top of Mottaret with their own bar, shop, ski hire and lift pass office. The bar was expensive, but the shop had most things you could need. There is no cash machine. To get cash you have to venture to Mottaret centre which is a free cable car ride away. Mottaret itself is small and quiet with only two or three bars and about three restaurents. The restaurents are slightly cheaper than those found in Meribel, but for a bit more atmosphere I would reccommend taking the bus to Meribel.

Skiing in the three valleys is amazing and Mottaret provided the perfect base to explore it since it is central to the ski area. If you want to treat yourself to a good lunch on the mountain we reccommend the camembert salad at the Chalet du Thorens in Val Thoren. It was the best salad I have ever eaten!

These appartments offer convenient skiing (much more so than some of the more expensive chalets) and if you are prepared to take the 20 min bus to Meribel you can balance a peaceful nights sleep with a lively night out. All in all a good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret

Address: Le Hameau du Mottaret, 73550 Meribel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Hameau Du Mottaret Hotel Meribel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Le Hameau du Mottaret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.