We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER EVER AGAIN !!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Doron

Hotel Doron
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meribel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Doron
Save
You added Hotel Doron to your Saves list
Route de la Chaudanne, 73550 Meribel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Meribel B&B and Inns
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER AGAIN !!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights. They seemed to last for two years. The hotel is run down very tired and dirty, see my pictures. The music on the first night was played at full bass until four a.m. the second night it only went on until two but luckily you could actually hear the music as opposed to the thump of bass. Our room was on the top floor with a fantastic view (the only positive of this stay). Previous people have said it was basic !!!! Believe me it is dirty and unhygienic please see my photos. Our bathroom was so narrow that is was physically impossible to sit on the toilet unless you sat on sideways. The shower had mould in the bottom the curtains and carpets were stained horribly again see my photos. Below our window was a decking area which had a basket ball net affixed on the roof below our window so you can imagine the noise this created. I would personally say this hotel would be over priced even at €40 a night We booked a double room only to receive two single beds pushed together. There was no tv no phone no iron and only one socket in the room. The continental breakfast was absolute minimum. The staff in the "restaurant" which is actually Scotts Bar were very friendly and helpful and to be fair the food we ate one night in there was ok. In my opinion unless you are aged between 16-22 don't stay at this hotel, far nicer places at far more reasonable prices can be found. Doron is purely trading on its location, it needs to up its game.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is very basic, but that's reflected in the price. The location is brilliant, just up an escalator to the side of the hotel and then you're on the pistes. However, the hotel is very noisey, due to a bar and a nightclub beneath it, with the latter going on until 3am. Fine if you plan to be up that late, but otherwise, make sure you have earplugs. Probably not appropriate for couples wanting a quiet time away.

Room Tip: get a room high up and towards the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at the doron. The accommodation is very basic but what this place lacks in luxury it more than makes up for with it's fantastic location that is amazingly convenient for both the slopes, that can be accessed from the escalator about 10metres from the front door, and many of the resorts liveliest bars, two of which, Scott's and The Pub, are in the same building. In truth the rooms are getting so worn that it is has gone past charming and the place is in need of a lick of paint and some new beds at least but it didn't stop our fun both on and off the slopes. If you do stay here then be sure to remember that you can ski down to the lift pass office at The Chaudan from the top of the elevator before you buy your lift pass and save yourself a walk down the hill carrying your gear

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Doran recently for a long weekend. Perfect location - smack bang in the middle of the village. All the bars and restaurants easily within walking distance. Scotts Bar underneath, ok but quiet whilst we were there. Le Pub (the nightclub) underneath also which was a great place to end our evenings. Has live music which is superb BUT one night the rock band (who were fab) didn't stop playing until 2.45am. Grand if you want to party till then but if you're staying on the first floor above the club, no point going to bed! We were on the top floor facing the back, with amazing views of the slopes. The hotel is approximately a 10 minute walk to the main bowel, Le Chaudanne, or you can get the free bus which stops virtually outside the hotel. You can also go up the escalator right beside the hotel and ski down to le Chaudanne which is a matter of minutes and you don't have to be a brilliant skiier to do it. If you like your ski trip to be a good mixture of skiing and boozing, then this is the place for you - its not 5 star luxury by any stretch of the imagination but its perfectly acceptable, clean and positioned.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Doron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doron

Address: Route de la Chaudanne, 73550 Meribel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Meribel
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Doron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.