We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place deserves 5 stars.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Helios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Helios to your Saves list
Hotel L'Helios
Route de la Renarde | Chemin Durupt, 73550 Meribel, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Meribel
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place deserves 5 stars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Everything from start to finish was amazing. The staff would bend over to meet any request. The rooms are big with a great south facing balcony. A big bathroom with shower and bath as opposed to the usual small bathrooms. And double sink is a plus. Bed was comfortable. I cannot think of anything remotely bad about this hotel. The ski shop is great - you get taken care of very well and properly advised on choice of skis. We have already booked a week next year and would not dream of going anywhere else. Food is also good, well presented and would recommend half board. All top class

Room Tip: South side facing the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have stayed at the hotel for the past five day, from entering every aspect and detail is amazing. The staff have treated me and my son to an experience not to be forgotten. If you want the wow factor then look no further!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfectly located to have exceptional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a great family holiday in Meribel staying at L'Helios boutique hotel. The rooms were fantastic - we had an interconnected suite with great sitting and bedroom space for the grown-ups and a really comfortable room for three kids with three single beds and lovely bathrooms. The hotel is ski in, ski out on Doron blue run although it is a steep ski down to La Chadaunne for little kids but the hotel will shuttle you down for lessons no problem. The food was fantastic - a great French breakfast and Florence and her team look after everyone so well. The pool and spa are lovely and my wife had a lovely hot stones massage which overran because she needed it! What went above and beyond was the last day - our taxi driver proved incompetent - stuck in the snow, no chains and dressed in brogues. After trying to push him out the owner of the hotel and his son came at 7.30am in the morning to pull him out but still he couldn't turn so after trying to get another taxi but having nothing at short notice he just drove us himself to Chambery airport ensuring we got the flight home. Hugely appreciated and typical of the great service you will receive at L'Helios. Merci beaucoup!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Last spring we have spent 6 days at Hotel Helios and we really enjoyed it. Great location, easy access to town center (easier coming down), The staff has been extremely helpful throughout. It is very nice for example having someone positionning your skis outside every morning and helping you with shoes and wearing morning and afternoon ! We have liked very much the atmosphere: easygoing, always available but not too present. Rooms are nicely decorated and fresh.
Only little downside, we have sometimes waited a bit long in the restaurant.
Although quality was top, prices were also very high. (I know we certainly pay the location !)
Strong recommendation !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great lunch. Prix fixe - and we had skied hard ( well for me !) and booked for the lunch so had a bottle of rose in the sun. Skii in and out so easy. 3 courses - very memorable confit duck and chocolate brownie. Sunny terrace with great views. We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

L'Hélios is one of these little mountain hotels that you immediately fall in love with upon arrival, when you see the reception. The déco is mountain-cozy but sober and elegant. Our room (33) was beautiful facing the ski slope and had sun in the afternoon (great to get some tan from the balcony after-ski).
Yessss, the hotel is an amazing ski-in and ski-out property. In the morning le monsieur in charge of the Ski room has your boots opened and warm for you and the skis and poles ready outside. Thank you!!
That, the polite personnel and the super comfortable king size bed and pillows are the best features.
Also the restaurant and the hot stone massage are worth if you are ready to spoil yourself / your partner. Toilet amenities are L'Occitane and Carita Paris.

Only complain is that wi-fi and parking are not free (I will never understand that in high scale hotels...)

Parking is quite tight, so you better be a good driver!
Breakfast buffet is 25 € so either you have it included in your room rate or maybe it's better to have it on the slopes.

Of course, prices of L'Hélios hotel are not given, but Méribel is very expensive anyway!!
But if you can afford the stay at least once, you won't regret any penny spent.
I am saving already for next year's stay! I will go back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We (family of 4 with 18/19 year old boys) completely agree with everything that Diappskier (Jan 2012) has said.We stayed at the Helios for Christmas 2012 and you would have hoped that in a whole year that some things might have improved. Alas I think they may have got worse!
Hotel was very clean and welcoming. Staff were mostly very attentive, although towards the end of the holiday it appeared that some of that was designed to extract the maximum in tips (restaurant). Although this was the beginning of the season there had already been a big staff turnover and we definitely got the impression that the management were not training the staff properly.
Restaurant - The food was under-cooked most of the time and overly fiddled with. The chef did not seem to be able to resist fussing about with the food. Well, we might be English but there are limits to what a restaurant should serve to an international clientele. Mostly the restaurant was pleasant enough the service was slow, and we had several incidents of noisy/bad behaviour from Eastern European guests who were not once asked to keep their own/childrens behaviour under control.
Cleaners - We had a number of items "removed" from our room by the cleaners who denied having done anything with said missing items. Luckily they were more sentimental than valuable, but we had to ask at least three times that the cleaners did not remove things. We were there for Christmas so it was even more important that the cleaners did not decide for themselves which items were to be "removed"
Spa - not worth the bother!
Bar - oh dear! Nobody in there but hardly a surprise when you look at the prices. The hotel appears to have sacked a number of staff just in the week that we were there, including the barman who we thought was fine. It wasn't really his fault he didn't have any customers!
Car parking - far too expensive
Rooms - still not one single hook. We did manage to get a coat rack once we'd asked, but at this price we shouldn't have to!. Still smell of paint
Wifi - Although their website says its free and that ever room has it. Neither of those things are true. It wasn't even just a one-off charge per room for the week. We were asked to pay for access per day/per device. So for 4 of us each with a laptop and a phone that's 8 devices a day at 3euros a day - That's 168euros for something that was supposed to be free. To make matters worse we didn't even have access in one of our rooms and elsewhere in the hotel access was very poor.
Position - right on the slopes. Ski-in Ski-out. Perfect for us. We love the position but it might not be so good for beginners or people not wanting to walk back up the hill from town. There is a hotel courtesy bus which worked fine for us on the few occasions we wanted it.
Ski room - Excellent. Can praise the ski-pro (Jean-Pierre) highly enough. Warm boots every morning. Skis out on the snow ready and waiting as soon as you arrived. All put away and stored safely over night. We have never been in a ski room with such comfy sofas, and not a bench in site. If you are an outside guest stopping for lunch they will store your skis and boots and give you crocs to wear in the restaurant - fantastic!
There are many positive things to say about this hotel and we would love to go back but not at the prices they are charging. The negatives currently outweigh the positives - what a shame!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Helios

Address: Route de la Renarde | Chemin Durupt, 73550 Meribel, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Meribel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Meribel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Helios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.