We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is really good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Trois Sources

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonnieux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Trois Sources
Save
You added Les Trois Sources to your Saves list
Chemin de la Chaine, 84480 Bonnieux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Bonnieux B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“This is really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

If you read the other reviews you will realise that this place deserves its accolades. At 144 Euros it is pricey for a bed and breakfast but we had a lovely suite of 3 rooms on the top floor with views of the nearby countryside and the hilltop village of Lacoste which is illuminated at night. Not entirely silent as there is regular traffic on the nearby road but nonetheless very rural Provence. The lady of the house is extremely elegant and brings you a lovely French style breakfast in the courtyard each day with 4 types of preserves and 3 types of bread, fresh orange, yoghurt and terrific coffee or tea (I even had my precious Earl Grey). There is a cracking little swimming pool and plenty of areas to sit and read in the shade or walk through the lavender fields if you wish. Access to other areas and restaurants is easy via the nearby road and you can visit the hilltop villages or nearby towns and still easily find your way back. It was hot during our stay, 35 Celsius, so it was very warm at night and for those of you used to A/C you may have a problem, this is a real old building so air conditioning is provided by the night breeze!
We loved our stay here and would highly recommend it for people who want to sample a real house with real people and not just a modern copy or artificial hotel chain.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

This place is amazing! Romantic and close to everything. This was our base to explore the Luberon and it was perfect.
Caroline and Paul are wonderful hosts. What a beautiful chateau and I loved our view of Lacoste from our balcony. The Castle of the Marquis de Sade lit up at night was spectacular! I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The history, dates back to the XIII century and very romantic!
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was absolutely gorgeous!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

You can't beat the location of this B&B. It is literally located among the vines and the sweeping views over the countryside include Mt Ventoux, Bonnieux and Lacoste (gorgeous lit up at night). The owner has done a wonderful job renovating the old mas, retaining it's old world charm. We loved staying in the 15th century part of the house which had a marvelous old stairway. Our room was spacious with three windows, wooden beams and stone walls. It had a claw foot tub and a walk-in shower. The bathroom facilities were very adequate, although it would have been nice to have been provided with shampoo. It was lovely relaxing in the lounge chairs by the pool as we enjoyed the view of Bonnieux. Breakfast can be taken inside or under a beautiful tree in their very pretty courtyard. It consists of croissants, breads and confitures. This is a quiet place with plenty of privacy as guests tend to keep to themselves. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Liked — location, views, 15th century room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

If you are simply looking for a place that captures the experience of staying in a historic Provencal farmhouse, simply look no further. My husband and I had the fortunate pleasure of being guests at Les Trois Sources for three nights and what a spectacular property situated between Lacoste and Bonnieux surrounded by lavender fields and vineyards.

The stone farmhouse has a lovely courtyard where breakfast is served and the room we stayed in was stunning, tastefully and simply furnished to reflect the historic character of the place. Through a rustic wooden door of the room, you have a terrace with an amazing view of Lacoste and the castle of the Marquis de Sade.

This place is for lovers of historic French architecture as the owners show a real passion through how well they have preserved and respected all of the historical details. In our world that is full of impersonal generic hotels, blackberrys, televisions, mobile phones, city noise and people rushing around you, this was such a refreshing experience to have none of this around. By staying at Les Trois Sources, you are very tempted to permanently abandon city life and convert to such rejuvenating country living... We shall return!

  • Liked — The farmhouse and the views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We had a two day stay at Les Trois Sources in Bonnieux and want to recommend it. The mas (farm house) has a beautiful lavender field behind it and is surrounded by vineyards and fruit trees. Our friendly host gave us a tour of the oldest section of the farm dating from the 13th century and he is naturally very proud of the work he has done to restore the farm. The farm, he told us, was a silk farm for many years and as such, the silk-processing rooms were very large (and thus the B & B's rooms are larger than normal). The breakfasts were very plentiful and featured homemade delicious jams and honey. The views from the bedroom windows were beautiful, looking towards Bonnieux and La Coste in the distance. I'd definately go for the most expensive room which is in the oldest part of the buildings and has a terrace. It is very lovely. We stayed in a less expensive room, and while very nice, it wasn't as special as the largest room (which is really large by anyone's standards). The pool is located at a short distance from the house which is an advantage in that guests don't have to listen to sounds from the pool, while at the same time providing some privacy for your dip. The B & B's location just outside the town of Bonnieux and is an excellent base for touring the area: Gourdes, Roussillion, Menerbes are just a short drive away. Our host gave us directions for a scenic drive back to the airport which we took advantage of, and we were glad we did. It was fantastic. We would definately stay here again!

  • Liked — lovely location, friendly hosts, large attractive rooms, beautiful setting,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

Our second time here. Gorgeous, quiet setting amid grape and lavender fields with 2 hill towns (Bonnieux and LaCoste) in the distance. Warm and friendly owners who speak enough English to get by. Good continental breakfasts with fresh breads and homemade jams. Sitting outside the old farmhouse under leafy trees to savor them was a special treat. Rooms large with fantastic views. Not luxurious, but definitely atmospheric with the feeling of living many centuries ago, but with modern bathrooms. Location: A bit to the east of many of the popular Provence towns, but we found them all within easy driving distance. Use the owners' directions. We didn't (used Mapquest) and paid the price in being lost for over an hour.

  • Liked — Stepping back into another time...so atmospheric
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

I am late in posting as we visited Les Trois Sources October 2 – 6, 2006 for 4 nights. When choosing accommodation in this area, we researched all of the surrounding towns and contacted approximately 25 properties. Les Trois Sources made the short list of 3 and it was the size of the rooms, location and their web site that ultimately won us over.

The hosts Paul and Caroline were very friendly and Paul was fluent in English which helps if you don't speak French as unfortunately we do not. As mentioned earlier the property has been lovingly restored and I particularly appreciated the attention to details. Our room as you can see by the photos was extremely large and comfortable. Caroline and Paul have done a wonderful job of finding just the right furniture and accessories for the rooms. I loved the detail of antiques placed in the spiral staircase at the top of the landing where our room was located. Our bathroom was open to the bedroom which was very unique (the toilet was in its own little room and private). When I requested an extra pillow, it was delivered to our room without hesitation. We found the breakfast room delightful to sit and enjoy our coffee and breakfast. Again, the decor of the room with pieces such as the over sized mirrors and large armoire add charm to the room. The views from our room and the property itself were breathtaking as we looked at Bonnieux in one direction and across to Lacoste in the other. The breakfast itself was adequate and is included in the room price.

We loved our visit to Le Trois Sources. The location is wonderful. It is a great spot to base yourself to visit the surrounding towns such as Lourmarin, Menerbes, etc. The surrounding towns close by provide options for dining. However one evening we decided that our own little home for the moment was so romantic and enticing that we decided to have an impromptu picnic in our room after gathering our goodies in Apt and it was delightful. We would return to Les Trois Sources without hesitation. Hope you enjoy the photos. To be honest I had several more that I would have loved to have posted but we are limited to 10.

  • Liked — Size of the room, location and the overall experience.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Trois Sources? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Trois Sources

Address: Chemin de la Chaine, 84480 Bonnieux, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Luberon > Bonnieux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bonnieux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast, charming guest house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Trois Sources Hotel Bonnieux
Les Trois Sources Bonnieux, France - Luberon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Trois Sources, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.