We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat before you go” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Cesar

Restaurant Cesar
Place de la Liberte, 84480 Bonnieux, France
+33 4 90 75 96 35 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Bonnieux
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Eat before you go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have to say that I think the food at the Cesar is perhaps the most beautifully flavoured I've ever had. I had the duck followed by the fig tart. The duck was beautifully presented and superbly flavoured served on a long platter interspersed with figs. The flavours were exquisite.
Unfortunately there were no vegetables at all, no potatoes, no other veg at all!
The fig tart which followed with the violet mousse was equally exquisite.
However, as this was my evening meal I found this totally unfulfilling......I think it's the only time I've ever left a restaurant feeling really hungry......if you eat here as your main meal of the day it might be a good idea to have a snack before you dine there, or you could end up going to bed hungry as I did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramillon P, Propriétaire at Restaurant Cesar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Google Translation
Que penser d'un tel avis?
Un client qui a faim, mais qui prend seulement plat dessert
qui commande un magret aux figues et qui s'étonne d'y trouver ........des figues???
Nous avons choisi de servir de la cuisine fine; pas de faire snack.
En outre, il trouve tout très bon mais donne une note sur cinq!!
Décidément impossible de contenter tout le monde.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful View, Great, Friendly Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a truly lovely dining experience at Restaurant Cesar. The atmosphere is lovely and the view overlooking the village of Lacoste is beautiful. Although it was dark we saw the twinkling the lights. Our waiter was a young, friendly man who was more than happy to translate the menu for us. He made us feel welcome, making light conversation talking about the town of Bonnieux and we talked about our experiences so far in France and our lifestyle in the US. The food was delicious. We shared a salad that was excellent and we both had fish that was also prepared perfectly. I highly recommend Restaurant Cesar and if ever I am in Provence again I would return for another dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent view over Bonnieux and outstanding food at reasonable price relative to quality.Charming waiter multilingual

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilbeek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We will go back there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Honest food, nicely presented, very good wines, very agreable service. Of all the restaurants we visited in bonnieux, this was by far the best

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Served by surf bum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our French waiter had obviously been taught English by an American and introduced himself with Whassup! He was amusing though.

Play du jour plus a dessert was 18 Euros but drinks added quite a lot to our bill. Food is quite good but the main reason to go is the view. Just make sure you're there early enough to get a window seat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cesar also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Cesar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Cesar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.