We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Toiras

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Toiras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Toiras
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Quai Job Foran, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel, lovely room, lovely garden, unfailingly polite and friendly staff, superb restaurant. Heaven. I am in two minds about submitting this review, as I would like to keep this hotel as my little secret!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    43
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
183
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Offenburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The hotel is located superbly at the habour of St Martin de Re.

Very busy habour on weekends but otherwise a dream location.

I have to admit that I made a boo boo and mistakenly booked the wrong weekend when we arrived.

What happened then left us without words. No less than 3 staff members helped us find a room for our first night which we were really gratefull for, since it also enabled us to stay in La Rochelle which is also worth a trip.

Upon return the following day we received a free upgrade to the presidential suite. Wow can a hotel be any nicer!!! No it really can't. Honestly we did not expect that all.

The suite of course is breathtaking. The entire hotel is a superb place of individualistic art. The handwritten note by the owner upon entering our room really just being just another wow wow wow moment here.

Thanks for this great experience in your hotel. Perfectly qualified staff, the quiteness and luxury make this hotel an example of hospitality in the entire business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitou-Charentes, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Thanks particularly to Pierre, the Hotel Manager and the rest of his team, our special celebration was lifted to magic heights this weekend. It was wonderful to briefly get a taste of the 'high life' - nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff, and we were made to feel very welcome - even though we arrived with non-designer luggage and on foot (having managed to get the car stuck in the town's public car park earlier in the day). The bed was the most comfortable we have experienced, and we are going to try to find one for our home. We enjoyed a superb dinner and champagne in the intimate restaurant (luckily we had a prior reservation) and felt totally cossetted. We had a lovely view of the very picturesque harbour at the very pretty St. Martin de Ré. All in all a fabulous.y indulgent stay - and a real treat fir us. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted at the station by Stefan, who was very courteous and interesting to talk to during the 20 minute or so drive to the hotel. We were welcomed at reception and although our room wasn't ready we took the opportunity to visit the sister hotel, a short walk away. The Clarissa's garden was so beautiful (I'd like to take it home!) and the swimming pool was very inviting.
When we arrived back to the hotel we were shown to our room. Our junior suite was stunning. Overlooking the courtyard to the rear of the hotel it was quiet out and stupendously opulent inside. There was an enormous bath on the mezzanine level as well as a generous shower cubicle. The whole suite was beautifully proportioned, with luxurious bed linen on the queen sized bed.
During our stay all the staff were courteous and human with it, often having a chat and full of information if we asked.
The hotel is located in a great position in Saint Martin, on the quayside close to the many restaurants, cafes, shops and the local market.
Couple of minor issues. Firstly breakfast was somewhat chaotic at times. Croissants served before drinks, no spoon to eat a boiled egg with and tables not always set correctly. These are minor grumbles as the staff always put things right with a smile when asked.
The other issue we had is out of the hotel's control so I didn't mention it at the time. The bedroom doors are fitted with self-closers (a fire reg?). Whilst we were careful to close the doors, unfortunately other guests were happy to allow their doors to bang shut often waking us at night or in the morning. As I say this was more of an irritation as the hotel has no control over the guests' behaviour!
All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Toiras and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

For me, location is the most important criteria for a hotel with quality and a good night's sleep a close second. This hotel has all that and more. Nestled by the quayside and therefore a stone's throw from the local restaurants and shops, it is nonetheless tranquil inside. The staff could not have been more pleasant, easy going and helpful - something not always true in upmarket French hotels. It is probably not a hotel for energetic young children - it is simply too small - and if you fancy using the famous restaurant you should book well in advance and remember it isn't open every day. But for a couple enjoying a few nights away, it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of July and arrived not realising that you needed an access code to get to the street where the hotel is located. However it was only a short walk from the main car park to the hotel and once we were given the code we were able to drive right up to the hotel door. Like the other reviewer, I suggest you pay up for valet parking. It is expensive, but the compound where the cars are parked is locked and very secure and especially if you intend to explore the island on bikes, you are unlikely to need your car again during your stay.

We had a room on the second floor which was very comfortable and nicely furnished though a little dark as the window to the front of the hotel was rather small. The bathroom was more of a small annex off the bedroom, with just a curtain to separate the two areas, which was a bit strange and was very small and rather cramped.

The price for breakfast seemed ridiculous so we ate outside each morning at one of the many cafes which are just a few yards away from the hotel and as the weather was lovely, it was great to sit overlooking the harbour watching the world go by. The restaurant was only open on the first night of our stay and as we handn't pre-booked it wasn't possible to get a table. However, there is a multitude of restaurants all round the harbour, less than 10 minutes walk away so finding somewhere to eat is not a problem.

The staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful and the lounge area is a very pleasant comfortable place to sit. De Torias is not a cheap place to stay and I guess you pay for the location as much as anything. We were there just before the time that the higher room rate kicks in - and it goes up very sharply indeed later in July and August - and though expensive it was not overly so. I don't think I would feel the same paying the July and August prices and if I was visiting again at that time of year I would look for something cheaper.

Staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly and the standard of service is good. If you don't mind paying a bit more to be right in the middle of things, then I would certainly recommend de Toiras

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on its reputation for luxury and quality, its location in St. Martin de Re and the presence of the swimming pool in their nearby chambre d'hote, the Villa Clarisse. We stayed 7 nights at the end of May and had a wonderful holiday. Our welcome was professional and friendly and we were showed to our room, the Marechal de Toiras room, by a very efficient and helpful receptionist who was extremely good at her job during our stay there. The room was bright and charming and we especially loved the quirky arrangement of the bath and shower behind an elegant curtain in the room - only in France!

The room overlooked the harbour and gave the most fantastic situation to observe the day to day life in St. Martin. Our stay occurred during a bank holiday weekend and things got a little noisy outside the room in the evenings which had its charms, but with the windows closed we could not hear anything of the nightlife below. The bed was comfortable and our room was spotless. We were presented with treats of luscious fruit or decadent chocolates on our return from everyday outings. We did not dine or breakfast at the Hotel de Toiras - only because we decided to take advantage of the cafes and bistros along the harbour to enjoy the atmosphere and people watching. The staff really were very good and always happy to help. We had regular contact with one receptionist from Brittany who was outstanding at her job, friendly, professional and helpful, we attempted to communicate in French and she always conversed with us despite her excellent English and our halting attempts to master the language, we appreciated her patience!

We used the pool up at the Villa Clarisse which was such a pleasure, it was clean and fresh in the most gorgeous setting - the fragrant and tranquil back garden of the villa. We had the pool to ourselves most evenings and enjoyed a very refreshing swim before going out to dinner.

The Ile de Re is a fantastic place to enjoy a relaxing holiday and a great base to explore other areas. We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel de Toiras and left feeling rested and pampered, we plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Toiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Toiras

Address: 1 Quai Job Foran, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Toiras 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the harbor of Saint-Martin-de-Ré, historical capital of Île de Ré registered on the UNESCO world heritage, the Hotel of Toiras is a luxury charming hotel, member of Relais & Châteaux, in a shipowner's magnificent house from the 17th. Villa Clarisse, the little sister of the Hotel de Toiras, with 9 rooms and suites inaugurated in June 2011, in a superb mansion from the 18th, is the “chic” Relais & Châteaux address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Toiras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Toiras Hotel
Hotel De Toiras Saint Martin De Re, Ile De Re, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Toiras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.