We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Baronnie Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Baronnie Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa
17-21 rue Baron de Chantal, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“an oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel that is an oasis of calm just a hundred yards from the busy bustling port of Sainte-Martin-de-Re. nothing is too much trouble for the staff, either through the booking process or during our stay. Marina and her colleagues were all very welcoming and helpful, especially with recommendations for restaurants. The continental breakfast offered a good selection, plus proper freshly squeezed orange juice and Nespresso coffee. Our room was a pavilion in the garden with a comfy 6ft bed. It was very quiet and tranquil, with easy access to the garden and the car park. The Wi-Fi was erratic, but this was probably due to the location of our room in the garden.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    41
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
41
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Second visit to this wonderful hotel in the centre of St Martin de Re. A two minute walk from the harbour, car parking, beautiful gardens, and the rooms are just gorgeous. Good breakfast buffet and super helpful staff make your stay here perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

First, I must say that I travel often for work and for life. At this stage, I must admit that I am not the easiest to please. Even the littlest of details or disorganization can catch my eye. So it gives me great pleasure to share my WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE at La Baronnie, it was PERFECT, so much so - I extended my trip. The venue, the staff, the grounds, the decor - all royal. Do yourself and your loved one a favor and book your trip as I did and I would personally recommend the Sevigne Suite. best KAH

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed there 3 nights in early October. Our room (cannot remember the name of it) was on the first floor in the main building through which you enter the property, and overlooked the backyard, hence was extremely quiet. Very stylish furbishing. Outstanding breakfast for French standards. Personnel was attentive but never intrusive. We'll be back! The island is a gem! And we were blessed by an outstanding weather early October.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We are return visitors to La Baronnie . It is truly an oasis within an already special locale. The rooms are gorgeous; tastefully decorated. Incredibly, without losing its old world charm, the bathrooms are very modern and spacious. The hotel is always impeccably clean and the service is beyond compare. The morning breakfast is a feast with plenty of variety to get you on your way for the day on Re. The gardens are enchanting. Another great benefit is being able to park within the walls of the facility.
The staff are exceptional - kind, helpful and very professional. We also loved Ola, the La Baronnie mascot, she is quite a charmer herself. Also, upon recommendation of the staff, we tried a new, great place to dine - Le Tout de Cru. It is located right around the corner and is a must-stop for any true seafood lover. They had specialty (world renowned) oysters and a perfect wine list to match (if you go, try the wine from St. Emillion - we loved it!)

Room Tip: Each room has its individual charm. Check with the staff before booking and they will guide you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

On 30th August I reserved a room on the internet at this establishment for the13th September and, like the fool I am, did not check the confirmation. On the 12th September I was printing out the confirmation and realised that, silly old fool that I am, I had actually made a mistake and reserved a room for the date on which I had made the booking, 30th August.

I contacted the hotel and explained my mistake and asked if they would be prepared to credit the amount they had deducted from my credit card against a future stay and they said that they would not as their cancellation policy was strictly followed!

I did not request my money back merely a credit against a stay the following month and, as they stated in their correspondence they can let every room in August, I have little doubt that they re-let the room when we failed to arrive!

Poor service to my mind although I readily admit that it was my fault in making the error......watch yourselves with this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronnie, Gérant at La Baronnie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam, We are terribly sorry to read this comment since you have not stayed with us. As you mentionned, you made a mistake in your reservation's date and I totally understand that you have been surprised of being charged; but we cannot be responsible of your mistake (especially in August) and our general sales conditions are well explained on line. It is really sad you judge the hotel without having stayed in our spaciaous rooms, or enjoying the gardens or the spa... We hope to have the opportunity to make you change your mind welcoming you here; it would be a real pleasure for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for just one night on a stopover en route to Paris and had such a lovely time, we left wishing we could stay for a whole week!

We received a very warm welcome from the owner and her lovely little doggie Ola who both showed us around the gorgeous gardens, the hotel and to our room. We stayed in the tower room which was just fantastic - a split level room with a bathroom and storage on the lower floor and a spiral staircase to the bedroom on the top floor. The loveliest thing about the tower room is that there are windows on three of the four walls which can be opened to provide a delightful breeze on a warm day and offer stunning views of the town all around.

The bedroom had a really comfy bed (despite being two singles pushed together - we didn't even really notice this) with lots of fluffy pillows, a mosquito net and a good tv.

The only downside would be for anyone who likes a lie-in - the bells from the church nearby ring for a few minutes at 7.30am so either bring earplugs or be wiling to start your day nice and early.

My husband and I were perfectly happy to wake up early and enjoyed the buffet breakfast immensely - lots of delicious freshly baked goods, cheeses, jams, cereals, tea, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Overall a really charming place - perfect old school French charm rather than showy 5 star. It's clean, pretty, full of character with very hospitable hosts and is a stones throw from the port of Martin de Re.

Highly recommended, would most definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Baronnie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baronnie Hotel & Spa

Address: 17-21 rue Baron de Chantal, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > Saint Martin de Re
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint Martin de Re
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa*** offers 22 rooms in a green and quiet setting, and a spa with personalized treatments of a beautician and an ostheopath. Relax and have a drink in the bar between the courtyard and the garden. Only two steps away from the harbor, this charming boutique hotel is a peaceful cosy and confort haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Baronnie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa La Baronnie - Domaine Du Bien-Etre
La Baronnie Hotel & Spa Saint Martin De Re, Ile De Re, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baronnie Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.