We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food. Patronising service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Baleine Bleue

La Baleine Bleue
4 Quai Launay Razilly, 17410 Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re, France
+33 5 46 09 03 30
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average food. Patronising service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location is great overlooking the harbour and the food is decent but unremarkable for the price. Agree with others that a lack of fluent French seems to be a bit of an issue here - service was distant and patronising. We spent two weeks in France and had this experience nowhere else so don't think we imagined it. Are plenty of other regiments close by which are much better value and more welcoming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    94
    37
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“French and foreigners are treated differently”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Best places on the terrace seem to be for the French and friends. Even at the closed patio behind the restaurant, where we were placed with no choice among the empty tables, there is a view of the port, but the foreigners do not get the best view/places. The menu was correct, the service slow, but overall a good evening, But very far from the top 5 listed here in tripadvisor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Expensive wannabes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My partner and I had dinner at La Baleine Bleue this evening. From the moment we arrived at this restaurant, we felt a rather cold and disdainful atmosphere. We were well-dressed although perhaps the staff only smile when they see Chanel...

We were taken to our table by a snobby waitress with attitude, who barely looked at us.

Upon seeing the prices, we thought, at least we will enjoy good food although the haughty atmosphere was a bit of a mood killer.

We started off by being given an "amuse-bouche" which was promising. Sadly, this would be the highlight of our dinner as once the appetisers came out, it was a different story. My partner had the langoustine which was clearly not fresh and came in a bizarre pea-like soup. She had to have it with bread to conceal the poor taste and could not finish it. I had the oysters which were ok but came with a bizarre pork ball that looked as though it had been sitting there for days. Perhaps their dog had refused to eat it;-)...

We tried not to get too disheartened and hoped that our main courses would be better. Sadly, they were even worse. I opted for the €41 sole which was clearly not "of the day": my partner had a sole at Le Belem for lunch which was 12 euros less and far better! As for her, she had the cod (cabillaud) which was even worse. It was clearly not fresh and had a bizarre aftertaste. She asked the waitress for some salt, thinking this would help but unfortunately even the lovely marine salt from this island could not conceal the very poor taste. Amazingly, the same pretentious waitress asked us if we enjoyed our meal (she clearly saw my partner had not finished her fish). When we told her we did not and that we were disappointed by the fact that the fish was not fresh, she became defensive, saying it was the fish of the day. This is clearly false. I don't know what I find more insulting: the fact she took us for complete idiots or the fact that she did not in the slightest try to apologise or have the manager come to speak to us. This was the last we saw of her which is clearly a sign of disregard for one's customers! Whilst the dessert which was figs with pistachio ice-cream was decent, we had lost our appetite by that point due to the snobby service and poor food.

The bill came to a whopping €164 for the two of us. These people think they are high-end cuisine material but unfortunately, they are just expensive wannabes. Seriously, save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

The food is good and the location is excellent (overlooking harbour, facing the sunset), but the service was bad. Way way too slow. 20 min to take order. 1 hr before first course showed up. Two and a half hours in total. Staff appeared generally indifferent. Overrated in St Martin.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great quality food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Book here - don't just pitch up expecting a table. Great food, good service and lovely view across the harbour. Can be windy, so pick a table along the main harbour seafront. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baleine Bleue also viewed

Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 

Been to La Baleine Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baleine Bleue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.