We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gaite

La Gaite
52 Port La Cotiniere, 17310 Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France
+33 5 46 47 10 26
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $35
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pontlliw, Wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Big Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We can't comment on the food as we didn't eat there but we did stop several times over a week for a drink and are surprised by the comments regarding service. The owner (manager?) was very friendly and chatty and left us feeling that we were in an establishment favoured by locals, he seemed to know everyone in the village (including us after the first visit) and greeted all with a kiss/handshake etc. I fail to see where the 'tourist trap' description comes from.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    10
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Extraordinary bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Quite cosy with a nice view over the harbour and lot of french families with children.
But don´t be fooled by an idyllic appearance.
The food is awful and the service is even worse.
We ordered shrimps as a starter that was alright and lamb steak.
Foolish of us, you might say, to order lamb in a fish restaurant but the quality of the lambs in Ile de Oleron and Ile de Re are extraordinary and it was the speciality of the day.
What we received after nearly one hour waiting was lamb chops. Cold lamb chops that most likely had been frozen before. No excuse, no interest in giving us something else. Just a shrug. Please stay out of this tourist trap that is a shame for the french cuisine.
A mystery that the tourist authorities can allow such a scam.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Avoid this tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

A typical tourist trap. 2 of 3 dishes returned being undercooked. No apology from staff, just a shoulder shrug.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Avoid this tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

A typical tourist trap. 2 dishes from 3 returned due to undercooking. A shrug of the shoulders and no apology from staff.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gaite also viewed

La Cotiniere, Ile d'Oleron
Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 
Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron
 

Been to La Gaite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gaite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.