We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Square

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Square to your Saves list
Hotel Le Square
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Square
2 place des Anciens Combattants, 17310 Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days in August and had a wonderful time. Our room was comfortable and the location was great. The staff in particular were incredibly friendly and helpful. We loved ile d'oleron and would stay here again if ever we return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wirral UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent accommodation, Spacious room good sized bathrom & big shower. Public areas V pleaseant inside & outise, Terrace area ,where breakfast can be taken weather permiting,the garden area is spacious with good seating although the cultivation is a work in progress.
The Breakfast is varied continental , good assortment of drinks ,hot & cold.
The swimming pool was pleasantly heated & the area excellent for sitting .Free Wifi available I made little use of the TV .with only french language progs..
Parking was very convenient.THe manager & some other staff speek English
I have mobility probs & found the staff extremely helpful making for a great holiday .It is situated near to many good eateries.
I really hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Welcoming and helpful english speaking manager who kindly made our restaurant reservation for the evening we arrived. A bit difficult to get parked near to hotel and hotel has only 3 reserved parking spots of its own. Room was comfortable, rather small but adequate - the open-plan wardrobe/hanging space would have proved testing had we been staying for more than two nights. The outdoor heated swimming pool was lovely - warm and relaxing. There was also a tiny gymnasium and table tennis. Fascinating, colourful and very french daily market both covered and open-air, a short walk away and of course beautiful beaches nearby. Eating out was a little more expensive than we are used to in other areas in France. Lots of lovely hot coffee and hot milk at breakfast time, an egg-boiler, a toaster, cereal, fruit juice, two sorts of bread, brioche, jams, butter, yoghurts - but as AandE said fresh fruit would have been a nicer option than fruit from a tin. We would visit and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for one night in late June. It was clean and comfortable. The Receptionists spoke good English and were very welcoming. The room was small but there is a pleasant seating area downstairs. The heated swimming pool was a bonus. The town centre is nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent a wonderful week in the island. The hotel is near restaurants and shops and we enjoyed going to the market opposite the hotel. the room was cute and comfortable.
The weather was bad but fortunately the swimmingpool was warm and we played pool and table tennis in the playroom. We got useful informations for events and festivals from the hotel desk . We'll come back! Hopefully next time it'll be sunny and we'll do more beach stuff!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were very excited about our first trip to Ile d'Oleron and were planning to stay there for two nights at the end of an otherwise lovely trip.
Existing reviews on tripadvisor raised our expectations.
We were expecting charm and cosiness in quiet corner of the town.
What we got was a tiny very cramped room at the end of a very narrow corridor. We had specifically asked for a quiet room but got one which had a constant noise of traffic until about 2a.m and from about 6a.m. Paper-thin walls allow one to hear far too much of what's happening in the next room: The bed had one of those plastic undersheets (great for babies who wet the bed, not so good for adults on a hot night): The breakfast was truly awful (lousy coffee, fruit salad from a tin; this is simply unforgivable when you consider there's a fantastic market a mere 100 metres away).
The only positive thing we can say is that the manager was gracious when we told him we were leaving after one night.
Overall our sense was that Ile d'Oleron is very overpriced, especially the restaurants: the beaches, however, are fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as this was the only hotel we could find with space ( we got the last room). This is a very friendly simple hotel with a nice pool area in the centre of St Pierre in the centre of the Ile D'Oleron - ideal location for seeing the whole island. Room was basic but clean - it was all we needed. Parking was readily available directly outside and the hotel is only 150 metres from the town centre and it's restaurants. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Square

Address: 2 place des Anciens Combattants, 17310 Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron > Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Le Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Square France/Poitou-Charentes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.