We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing family hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Trojan | Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Ile d'Oleron
Bristol
1 review
“Great place for a relaxing family hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our second summer stay at Thalassa Oleron & great time again with the family who really enjoy the location. Service is attentive & very friendly. Etienne, front of house manager, is a great host who makes sure you are well looked after in both dining room & bar. Kids love the beach & pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    133
    30
    15
    1
See reviews for
95
139
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

A good choice on Ile d'Oleron. Very clean rooms, decoration as you would expect in a Novotel. Located on a so-so beach, but only a short walk away from a better one (and still in walking distance of an excellent one). The breakfast provides all you need, but don't expect anything extra. As an alternative, the closest boulangerie is a 15 minutes bicycle ride away (the hotel rents out bicycles for a steep 16 euros half day and 19 euros full day). Standard restaurant, again nothing really special, but good salads and friendly, efficient service. The balcony would benefit from a thorough scrubbing as sea salt and dust combine to leave a greasy, sticky layer on it. Oh, and then there is the hairdryer, of the old version, mounted to the wall, with a big tube, more appropriate for drying your shoes than your hair. Difficult to understand why Accor insists on this nuisance, while groups like Starwood are consistently providing normal hairdryers. Further missing are also conveniently placed plugs for your laptop and other appliances.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed 6 nights and we had a great stay ! We hesitated before booking this hotel, we were very pleasantly surprised, much better than standard Novotel..
The location is terrific, the staff is very friendly, smiling and helpful. We had our dog and every day the staff prepared a meal for him with fresh meat. the swimming pool is large with large windows opening onto the beach. the fitness room is well equipped and very cosy.

We had a a very nice sea view room at the third floor with a balcony .. and an Nexpresso machine ! The bathroom is small but very comfortable . overall there was enough space for my wife, our dog and I and it was very quiet.

We took all dinners at the hotel. It is a good value for money but it not a gourmet restaurant. 3 evening per week, there is a buffet. Our 2 favourites are the Saturday ' buffet de la mer' and the Thursday' buffet de la Cotinniere' both with good seafood and fish. At breakfast the negative points are that there are no fresh fruit juice, no boiled or fried eggs. otherwise there are enough choices with very good pastries, bread, cheese, and fresh fruits.

In conclusion if you love walking on the beach and in the forest, swimming in a nice spa, and you are looking to get rest it is a perfect resort with a good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room at the 3 floor with sea view .. It includes an Nexpresso machine, both rob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed 5 days in February at this lovely hotel. The setting is absolutely fabulous, with beautiful beaches and forests. The hotel Staff was very friendly, the breakfast had great offerings, dinner was good and healthy. The seawater pool and Thalassa are spotless, the "modelages/massages" a true bliss. We had one room with our two kids and two small dogs, everything worked out very well, the beautiful views were amazingly restful. We went walking, cycling, horse riding and played golf, and enjoyed the steam baths and pool on our return. Our son loved the library of "bandes dessinees" as well as the kids club. The only small nuisance is the synthetic sheets on the beds, we prefer cotton... But this is a matter of taste. We loved this inspiring holiday, and left feeling healthy, rested and even with a little suntan.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view, absolutely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

very impressive service. i would to appreciate accor group to give excellent relaxation .
if you choosing accor hotel to sty please don't take any tension really its very high quality rooms& excellent staff service i thing accor is no.1 in service . i would to advise accor to all traveler .

Room Tip: If u choosing front view rooms i thing that better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel

Address: St Trojan | Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Ile d'Oleron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Thalassa Oleron St Trojan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.