We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence le Mail Plage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residence le Mail Plage to your Saves list
Residence le Mail Plage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 avenue du Mail, 17670 La Couarde-sur-Mer, Ile de Re, France   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Le Mail Plage for a week at the height of the French holiday season. It's a basic self-catering hotel in a great location – 100m from the beach and a similar distance from shopping for essentials and the daily morning market (for excellent local produce and tat). There are cafés and restaurants within touching distance, and more of the same in the quaint, pedestrianised village centre, a five-minute walk away.

Apartment 36 (sleeps six with mezzanine, low-ceiling double bedroom, which my wife frequently banged her head on, a single on the landing, a single in the hallway and a pull-out sofa) and offers a view of the, well, car park. That said, it was quiet; most people dump their car for the duration of their stay and take to bicycles. The tiny WC is separate and doesn't have a sink; anyone taller than 6ft would be best advised to sit sideways on the pew with the door open (if your family/partner will accept such a display of openness).

The pool looked fine and never seemed overly busy but we didn't try it, preferring to walk to the beach or cycle to other beaches further afield.

The self-catering side is well taken care of, including a microwave, four-place hob, dishwasher, toaster, coffee machine (bring a kettle if you like your tea hot) and all the kitchen utensils you could want. But you need to bring sheets/pillow cases, towels, tea towels, iron, rubbish bags, washing-up liquid and anything else you use in normal day-to-day living; the hotel doesn't give so much as a bean of a welcome pack.

The front desk were very helpful and the free-in-reception wi-fi (bring your own computer) worked but wasn't great. There's a wi-fi hotspot at the tourist office in the village centre that I didn't try.

Our conclusion was that we would have been better off renting a house. We could have had a similarly positioned three-bedroom property for less than the £1000+ we paid, and we'd have had our own outside space.

As for Île de Ré itself, we'll be going back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
28
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Just returned from a week with hubby and our two adult daughters, only booked a short time ago through Cottages4You. The apartment was very spacious on two levels, set at front of block, it was clean and tidy but just somewhat tired. We took our own bed linen and towels. The guy in recepiton was always very polite and friendly, the pool was ok, no problem getting a sunbed tho might be different in high season tho who wants to sit at the pool with the beach just a very short walk away! Il de re is just lovely, hired bikes and cycled all over, local restaurants were good, especially the one oppostie. Just one thing, would take a kettle next time as only a coffee maker there. Not much to do for young adults. Very good value - you cant expect 5 star when you pay those prices ie you get what you pay for! Will go back.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews but was very disappointed. We found reception staff to be unhelpful and unfriendly, and when we complained about anything all of a sudden they lost ability to speak English. We booked through Welcome Cottages and it stated we had a terrace. When we got there found only 25% of the rooms had terraces. We also found the apartments cramped, not very comfortable and they smelled. They were fairly clean. The actual location was lacing in atmosphere. The best thing was hiring some bikes - Excellent cycle paths North of Island. The best meal we had was next door to apartments which we only discovered on final night. Lovely meal and inexpensive. Certainly not recommended for young couples!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kerry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We were staying in the Residence La Mail Plage 2005 and it wasn't very clean at the time. Still we booked again (prices are really low) and were pleasantly suprised. The supplied linen was whiter than white, individually wrapped in a plastic bag, the apartment was spotless! We arrived outside the opening times of the reception, but no problem, the housekeeper let us in to our apartment (very friendly) Then we jumped into the pool (the beach is 100m away) and our holidays began. Like to mention that we could take our dog into the apartment, she could sleep downstairs and we had peace upstairs. Ile de Re is a fantastic experience, we love the bridge to it, the 9 Euro crossing fee keeps all the riff-raff (I hope you know what I mean) away on the mainland. Dining in St. Martin is superb and very competitively priced. The Residence Le Mail Plage is highly recommended this time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

We found Mail Plage upon friends'recommendation. It was lovely, it's not a massive resort, so you meet people, the pool is nice, the flats are quiet, cosy and nicely decorated.

We appreciated having meals on the balcony and getting out sometimes to wall on the beach or cycle around the island.
By all means, Ile de Re is a great vacation destination.
But : do not go in July and August when the French have their holiday, it will be much quieter and enjoyable if you fancy a nice rest!

  • Liked — The tranquility and nice staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

If you fancy a lovely and quiet holiday : head for the Ile de Ré, away from Cote d'Azur crowds and trafficjams.

We stayed in a 2 rooms flat, self-catered (plenty of lovely restaurants nearby) with a balcony. I loved seating outside, reading and just relaxing while my husband went on roundtrips cycling around the island.
The place has a swimming pool, our neighbours were very nice people as well.
recommended!

  • Liked — Nice and quiet
  • Disliked — a bigger tv screen would have been nice
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Great place, friendly staff! We stayed there 2 weeks with the missus and the kids. Kids loved the pool and the island. Missus enjoyed the balcony of the apartment.
The residence is well situated, we loved it so much, we already booked for next year, although in July when it is less crowded.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — decor need to be updated
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence le Mail Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence le Mail Plage

Address: 17 avenue du Mail, 17670 La Couarde-sur-Mer, Ile de Re, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > Ile de Re > La Couarde-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Couarde-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence le Mail Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Residence le Mail Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Mail Plage Ile De Re/La Couarde-Sur-Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence le Mail Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.