We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ecailler

L'Ecailler
3 Quai Senac | Port de La Flotte, 17630 La Flotte, Ile de Re, France
0546095640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in La Flotte
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Really good sole and lobster dish, delicious, expensive but well worth the splurge.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    63
    14
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Some of the best seafood I have ever eaten, including amazing oysters. A really excellent meal...staff also incredibly accommodating and friendly. We went with our son which I wouldn't really recommend because although the staff couldn't have been nicer, we felt that it was more a place for a special meal rather than a young family dining place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cognac, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

From the moment we walked in the greeting by all staff was fantastic,food really gastronomic,prices may be high to some people but for what you get i thought it was spot on! to experience such flavours was great,we booked on the sat lunchtime for that evening & because we were so impressed we booked that night for the following evening & we certainly were not dissapointed,well done to the chef,his wife & all the team,it was a pleasure to dine somewhere so good!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, U.K.
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have had for some time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Handily located near the bus stop (direct from the SNCF station at la Rochelle), it is neccessary to book at this excellent restaurant to get a good table outside.The Menu de Pecheurs was 54 euros but the food was worthy of a 2 star Michelin, with turbot being included. The lady owner ensures that all goes smoothly and the whole atmosphere is one of relaxed enjoyment. The wine list is extensive, but try the local wine from the island- perfectly acceptable. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you want good seafood , its here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Situated on the harbour front of La Flotte, L'Ecailler is a seafood restaurant, the staff are most welcoming, the ambiance excellent. The quality of the food is excellent, and the presentation very good. I would say it was just short of a gastronomic experience, but trying hard to get there.
My wife and I thought the prices were a little high, but no higher than similar restaurants nearby.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecailler also viewed

Sainte Marie de Re, Ile de Re
La Flotte, Ile de Re
 
Saint Martin de Re, Ile de Re
 

Been to L'Ecailler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ecailler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.