We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a lazy lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Coq d'Or

Le Coq d'Or
18, place du Chateau, 17500 Jonzac, France
05 46 48 00 06
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Coq d'Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Jonzac
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely for a lazy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I dined here for lunch with a friend when we couldn't find anywhere else that was open during the week. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food was delicious though the selection was quite limited. A lovely spot right beside the castle in the centre of the town to sit outside at with a glass of wine over lunch and watch the world go by

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unpredictable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visit Jonzac at least twice a year due to family ties in the area, and have visited the Coq d'Or regularly. It's a lovely place to sit outside for a coffee or beer, and the restaurant is quite stylish with modern decor, and very clean modern loos (not always a given in France!). The owner speaks very good english, but we have found the service and food to be haphazard and the prices seem to have crept up over the last two years. Last summer (2012) we had a meal which was below average in quality - my teenage daughter had steak which was tough and very fatty, and the sauted potatoes were burnt and luke warm, clearly as we were the last people having lunch they were the remnants of that lunchtime's service, lunch for 4, 2 courses each and a pichet of house wine was over 120 Euros. We stopped by this summer (July 2013) for a drink, had 4 cokes and 4 small beers and the cost was over 25 Euros which I thought was a lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sinful fondant !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very friendly very well located in front of the castle and the most delicious sinful fondant au chocolat ever ate in our lives !!
The rouget was fresh and delicious perfect coffee we will return !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just a coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Just stopped in for a coffee lovely little place, the mother in law who lives here says the food is very good value as well

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night on route from Brittany to Giallac. The hotel overlooked a very pretty square and Chateau. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent. Our room was large and very elegant, well equipped, and with a splendid view. A really pleasant stopover.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Coq d'Or also viewed

Jonzac, Charente-Maritime
Jonzac, Charente-Maritime
 
Jonzac, Charente-Maritime
Jonzac, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Le Coq d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Coq d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.