We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our night in Abbeville/retired couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France to your Saves list
Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Place du Pilori, 80100 Abbeville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Abbeville
A TripAdvisor Member
“our night in Abbeville/retired couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Mercure Abbeville enjoys a prominent location in the City Centre close to the Cathedral and central shopping. The rooms are very spacious and well equipped and we enjoyed a quiet nights sleep on an upper floor at the rear of the Hotel.The Hotel has been completely modernised. We ate in the Hotel Restaurant and found the choice and quality of food excellent(the best we had enjoyed in 10 nights in France)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    143
    63
    16
    8
See reviews for
64
151
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Easily accessible from the main A16 road Calais to Paris. Friendly, English-speaking staff, all of whom were professional and courteous. Excellent in-house restaurant. Went on a B&B 'deal' which was good value for money. Only drawback was the room we had was a tad on the small side, ie 'compact and bijou'. It did, however, serve its purpose. En-suite was spotlessly clean, as was room in general. Good sleep in good bed. Restricted space at front of hotel for unloading etc on arrival, but plenty of (free) parking available on town square car-park approx 100m away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed there for business a total of 6 months. There was not a lot of hotel choice in abbeville..... This hotel is really well located. However, be aware that if you park on the big place car park next to the cinema, you have to ask the parking disc at the hotel. There is plenty of place to park which is good. I tried all the rooms and they are very variable in size for the same price. So if you think your room is too small, do not hesitate to ask to change. Avoid room 109 or equivalent on 2nd and 3rd level, they are front of the lift and next to the stairs so it is really noisy!!. One bad point as well is the fact that no matter if you ask to not be disturbed they do not respect it and always come to clean even if you request not to!!. Overall this is an ok hotel. The bad point is the service. Depending on who answer to you you can be very well treated as well as having rude people. Especially at the bar and the restaurant. We had diner only when we had no choice (bad weaher, or late return) and almost each time there was an error in the order and we were never served at he same time. The worst is the person in charge at night!!!. He hates to be disturbed by international calls (had a collegue from US). He was always saying on the phone "your wife AGAIN". Other collegues had poblems with him as well. Always check your bill at the end because they make many mstake in bar and restaurant bills (sometimes they forget to charge you so in that case keep quiet...).

Room Tip: Avoid room 109 or equivalent on 2nd and 3rd level, they are front of the lift and next to the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The head waiter took our dinner order. He brought us incorrect starters. He then brought me the correct starter but brought another incorrect one for my wife. He argued with my wife trying to blame her for ordering the wrong meal.
The young waiter who prepared my steak tartare was excellent.
We would use the hotel again but would not dine in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Pleasantly surprised by how nice Abbeville and this hotel were. Hotel very central. We were travelling with a baby and toddler and so booked a superior room which was huge! The staff were very helpful and the food is the restaurant was good too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

A very well organised hotel with helpful staff. Restaurant good. Lots to see from battlefields of the Somme to the Bay of the Somme with wildlife and peaceful beaches. Recommended for cycling and family holidays.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France

Address: 19 Place du Pilori, 80100 Abbeville, France
Location: France > Picardy > Somme > Abbeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Abbeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance to the Bay of the Somme, one of the most beautiful bays in the world, this red brick hotel, right in the heart of town is a classic example of Ponthieu architecture. The airconditioned hotel offers 72 rooms (including 3 for guestswith limited mobility) as well as a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms and private pay car park. This hotel is equally suited to a business trip or a holiday in Abbeville with your partner or family. Upper levels fully refurbished in early 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Abbeville Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.