We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Plage to your Saves list
Hotel de la Plage
87, rue de la Plage, 76400 Fecamp, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fecamp
Certificate of Excellence
Delden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a simple room on the second floor with two soft but good beds and a small bathroom. The air freshener is pretty prevalent but the windows can be opened and we have sea views. The floors creak a bit. Small and cozy breakfast room. Plain breakfast with baguettes and a croissant with a choice of pre-packaged jams and nutella, coffee and tea. Hotel is run by a friendly and helpful couple, her English is well and she provides us with all kinds of information. Located 100 meters from the pebble beach and 10 minutes walk from the center / port with great choice of restaurants. Fecamp is a nice place to visit for one day.

Room Tip: Room 22 has sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel in Normandy, France is comfortable and clean and a scant view of the sea. It is reasonably priced, but the best is the restaurant around the corner. Can't remember the name, but it is to the left of the hotel as you face the hotel. Fire blazing and food cooked over the fire and very good steaks. The hotel is by the sea and good stop over on the way to the Calais ferry port and good for exploring the north of Normandy.

Room Tip: choose one facing the sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Rather badly renovated old building a block form the sea shore

The staff are nice and english speaking ,there was no problem checking in late as they appear to live on the premises

Breakfast is sort of nice

The renovation was done rather badly,floors are creaky and thats bothersome at night
No AC ,though luckily there was no need for it

Room was ok,but only 1 power outlet in this day and age is rather ridiculous

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is what happens when you change plans at the last minute, have old guidebooks and no internet - we ended up at the Hotel de la Plage, which was listed in our old book as being the best in Fecamp. We unfortunately drove right by the top rated hotel as it didn't look very nice from the road and actually looked closed - mistake. Anyway, the place (Fecamp) was packed, which for being off season midweek we were surprised at, and had already been turned away from another hotel. When we got to this one, she had only one room left and even though I would normally never stay in a place for what the room looked like and the cost, there was already a queue downstairs of people wanting the room too, so we thought we didn't really have a choice.
The room, although spacious with a double and a single bed had no view, is quite dated, no A/C and never worth the €78.50 per night. The bathroom looked positively ancient and my photo of the shower actually makes it look nicer than it was. They had photos on the outside of the hotel advertising rooms at €45 and that is what I think our room was actually worth - no more.
The room and hallway smelled strongly of smoke but not cigarette smoke, more like they had had a fire. That evening we found out that it was because our room was right above the Grillade, a restaurant with a huge open fire (see my review on it). So if you're sensitive to that, avoid this side of the hotel. Also because there was a bit of a heat wave for that time of year (end of Sept) with no A/C you had to have the window wide open in order to sleep and so got all the noise of the early morning especially as there is a bakery right across the road.
The woman at the desk was very helpful and spoke very good English, gave us maps, and a booklet for discounts at various tourist places, restaurants, etc.
The location is good, only 1 street from the beach and we parked for free right in front but I don't know if that was because of it being low season and can imagine that during high season it may be difficult to park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The hotel appears to be run by a couple, both of whom were very friendly and willing to give recommendations about things to do in and around Fecamp. The location is great. There may be a room or two that can get a glimpse of some water, but it's only a block or two to walk to the beach, so even if you can't see the water (which you probably won't be able to), you can be there momentarily. The rooms were clean. The bathroom hasn't been renovated for a while, but it is clean. Also, there's free internet, which is always nice.

The two things that kept me from giving it a 5 were the noise and the price. We didn't pay a ton for it, I think it was around 60 euros. But given that we were off season, I think we might be able to find one of similar quality with a free breakfast or something that would cost the same or less. As for the noise, it wasn't so much other room noise, but a little street noise (probably more in high season) and lots of hallway noise. If you're at the end of the hall, you probably won't notice it; we were about halfway down. If you're a light sleeper, just something to be aware of.

So like I said, there may be a better value somewhere in Fecamp, but overall, we were very satisfied with our stay and would be happy to go back to the same hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fecamp
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Pavois Hotel
Le Grand Pavois Hotel
#1 of 10 in Fecamp
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#6 of 10 in Fecamp
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vent D'ouest
Hotel Vent D'ouest
#3 of 10 in Fecamp
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Commerce Hotel
Le Commerce Hotel
#4 of 10 in Fecamp
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#8 of 10 in Fecamp
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Dormy House
Hotel Dormy House
#1 of 14 in Etretat
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: 87, rue de la Plage, 76400 Fecamp, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Fecamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fecamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.