We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, friendly, great location for Chunnel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche

Save Saved
You added Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de Cantorbery, 62231 Coquelles, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER DEAL: UP TO 40%OFF
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Coquelles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good, clean, friendly, great location for Chunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here. For one night, staff very friendly arranged a twin room on request in a matter of moments, due to the snow they advised booking a table in the in house restaurant as it also used by guests from the other Accor hotels on the same site. The staff that evening worked hard to cope with the additional guests due to snow and provided good service at dinner. The restaurant was busy and there was one larger noisy party but the food was good if simple. Breakfast the next day was continental but well stocked. Althought the coffee is out of a one cup machine it is good quality. The room was clean and tidy with a small but excellent shower room. It is fitted out in one piece and looks a little like those on a boat, but the water pressure was good and even early in the morning there was hot water. We where not kept awake by lose at all but the doors the the ensuites are noisy to open and close so it's is hard to creep around if you are an early departure. The location is so handy for the channel tunnel that even after a night of snow we did not feel we risked missing our departure. Just right for a rest after a day driving back to Calais before getting through the channel tunnel next day. That way you are fresh for the final UK drive home, and as it was via M25 you need to be rested. Thanks to all staff at Ibis for a good stay

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    449
    105
    23
    9
See reviews for
231
461
49
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cortona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

An excellent hotel to stay in if using the Eurotunnel. It is convenient, clean, has a a restaurant and bar and takes dogs for a small fee of €5.00. The staff are charming and helpful. My only complaint was that the menu does not cater for vegetarians. There was just a starter that did not contain meat. This is always a problem in France! I have used this hotel a couple of times and will return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

BE AWARE OF SMOKING INSIDE THE IBIS IN FRANCE. We have stayed here on numerous occasion for the past 9 years. To my horror this year when we returned to our room on the ground floor (I suffer with my breathing) it smelled as if somebody had been smoking in our room. I went to tell the male receptionist on duty and to his credit he offered to move us to another room, but when we returned it didn't seem so bad so we decided to stay. Anyway after that about every 10 minutes it smelled as if someone was smoking in our bathroom and went on like that until about 2 o'clock in the morning. When we left the hotel in the morning we told the male receptionist about what we experienced to which he shrugged his shoulders, so I told him I was going to complain to which he shrugged his shoulders again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We use lots of Ibis hotels regularly. Always book on-line and pay in advance. Checked in OK, guy behind desk looked at our printed on-line booking receipt, said: "Yes. all prepaid." We do not "eat in" so had no other additions to our account.
When we came to leave next morning, handed in room "key" - and woman behind counter told us we owed 76.60 EUR! Showed her print-out of pre-payment receipt. Refused to accept print-out of pre-paid booking receipt was genuine; demanded we had to pay. I used Ibis computer terminal to access my on-line bank account and showed her the on-screen evidence we'd paid 4 months previously, including the Ibis Coquelles reference and Accor payment reference. She STILL REFUSED to accept this and demanded we had to pay. Discussion became argument and she started accusing us of being liars and frauds to other Ibis staff who had gathered around (my French is much better then she assumed!). After much heated arguing we said we were leaving whatever as we had a ferry to catch (we only just made it!). Told her to use our contact details on their system to follow it up and check with Accor HQ. We walked out with her still insisting we owed for the room. Expected to be arrested but no police were called...
Have reported this whole very nasty incident to Accor and they are investigating on our behalf.
Apart from this, the staff who greeted us on arrival were great! As usual! No, it won't stop us staying again but I am now very wary...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibistunnel, Directeur général at Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear customer, thank you for taking the time to express your stay, as our customer service you have certainly expressed a technical problem from our website we exposed a misunderstanding. Your room had indeed been set but we was impossible to have access to this information. I repeat my apologies for this technical problem was the shutter of the unfortunate incident met with my staff in reception this morning. I hope to regain your confidence in a future stay on Coquelles
very Sincerely
Anne Bertoux Cugny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, Uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

my husband and I have stayed at this hotel before and always think it is good value for money. This time we had a meal in the restaurant and this is where we were disappointed. The female member of staff that served us had a terrible attitude and would not help with the menu at all. We do realise we are in France and try to speak the language as best we can but as this hotel is obviously mainly full of english and this member of staff could speak very good english when she wanted, she could have made the effort to help us translate the menu and not walk off "in a sulk". We would stay at the hotel again but doubt we would eat there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche

Address: Place de Cantorbery, 62231 Coquelles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Coquelles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Coquelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Coquelles Tunnel hotel benefits from an exceptional location. Next to the Channel Tunnel and the Cité Europe shopping centre, it is 10 min by motorway from the Car Ferries terminal and 5 min from Calais Frethun TGV railway station. The hotel has 86 air-conditioned rooms. It offers a restaurant, a bar serving snacks 24/24, closed free and guarded parking, a meeting room and Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Calais Coquelles Tunnel Hotel Coquelles
Accor Calais Coquelles Tunnel
Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous La Manche Pas-De-Calais, France - Coquelles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Calais Tunnel Sous la Manche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.