We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lafabregue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Lafabregue to your Saves list
Villa Lafabregue
15 Avenue Louis Prat, 66500 Prades, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Prades B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A rave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Villa Lafabregue in Prades, and I have to add a rave to all the others posted. The villa is a large 19th-century house surrounded by a garden in the residential section of Prades. Nick welcomed us in the late afternoon, helped carry our luggage up to the second floor, and made tea for us. A lovely welcome. We got upgraded to the largest room in the house, the Canigou, which also has a large private terrace. The view from our room--and also from the enclosed loggia on the main floor--is spectacular: the Canigou massif, which in May when we were there was snow-covered. Creating a welcoming and easy-going atmosphere, Nick and Kate make it possible to bring food in for lunch or supper to eat either in your room or in the breakfast area. They recommended an excellent restaurant on the central square--Le Patio--which was so good, we returned the second night for dinner. Also, while in Prades, don't miss visiting St Pierre, the village church. It has a severe exterior, but you will be surprised by the opulent decoration of the interior. Having spent two weeks on the road in Languedoc/Roussillon, I can say without reservation that this was by far the most pleasant accommodation we had.

Room Tip: Rooms with private terrace--Canigou and the Palm--have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
69
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A good chambres d'hote is one of the pleasures of leisure travel in France and this is one of the very best we have stayed in. There was nothing not to like! The owners know how to run an hospitality business. Of many pleasures, the provision of everything (other than the food) for a civilised cold meal in your room or on your terrace and the excellent breakfast stand out.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent 6 nights here. Waking up to snow-capped mountains was beautiful. Nick and Kate are lovely hosts. They keep a homely and inviting atmosphere, and are always happy to help. The villa has a fantastic history which adds to the feel of the place. Excellent bed! There's a great variety of room to stay in, with some comfortable gites for a small family. The grounds are perfect for relaxing, whether poolside, on your own terrace or for just a walk around. Keep a look our for a tortoise! Short stroll to the shops or cafes/restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here with my 88 year old father for two nights at the beginning of May. The villa is spacious in a beautiful position. Whilst it is close to the centre of the town it is very quiet and peaceful. Kate and Nick went to great trouble to look after us and make us feel very welcome. Unlike other places they positively encouraged us to take any left overs from breakfast for lunch. If you stay there you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont l'Herault, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. As you will read elsewhere, the incredible views, the spacious terraces, the colonial grandeur of the building itself and the attentive (though never intrusive) presence of the owners, Nick and Kate, makes this place very special. We particularly appreciated the easy availability of plates, cutlery, a fridge in the room - all of which made it so easy to picnic on the terrace without feeling that this was something we shouldn't be doing. Also very useful, a vast array of maps and books for guests to make use of on trust. All this for the same price as a square box in a concrete Campanile or Ibis! Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Always pay extra for a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife was leading an educational study visit to this part of France and we chose the Villa Lafabregue as our base. We arrived one day in advance of a party of 12 teachers, 10 of whom also stayed at Villa Lafabregue. This is a beautiful and well-appointed villa and my wife and I would much like to return for another visit. During our eight night stay Nick and Kate looked after us with great attention. They were extremely helpful with some of the organisational aspects of our study visit e.g. arranging and even providing transport for us. We started each day with a good breakfast and whenever the group arrived back towards the end of the day Nick or Kate would supply us with tea or coffee. This is an ideal base in which to explore this part of France. Truly magnificent views from the breakfast room looking up to Mount Canigou.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We only stayed one night, sadly, at this wonderful B and B . The house looks like an old colonial villa, full of character and charm. Our bedroom opened onto a large terrace with a view to the snow capped mountains . Sun loungers were provided and a table and chairs. The bed was extremely comfortable , and there was tea and coffee making facility in the room and thoughtfully a corkscrew too! We were immediately offered tea on arrival which was served in a wonderful room overlooking the garden where we also had breakfast the next day. Breakfast was simple continental style with cereal ,fruit, bread, cheese, ham, croissants. The owner was friendly and helpful, told us places where we could eat and about the market in town the following day.The en suite bathroom was huge- no shower but there was a shower attachment in the luxurious bath. The whole place felt like a warm and friendly family house and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace as the view is magnificent and the terrace a beautiful place to sit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lafabregue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lafabregue

Address: 15 Avenue Louis Prat, 66500 Prades, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Prades
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Prades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Villa Lafabregue, a beautiful house in the centre of Prades with either B&B or self catering accommodation, set in an acre of gardens with large swimming pool. We provide crockery and cutlery so you can bring food back from the market to eat on your terrace. There are laundry facilities available. You can make up a sandwich for your lunch from the breakfast buffet. We have free WiFi and internet access. We hope to provide you a relaxed, informal stay, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Lafabregue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lafabregue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.