We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castell Rose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prades
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castell Rose
Chemin de la Litera, 66500 Prades, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Prades B&B and Inns
Darien, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at Castell Rose for 3 days in September. This place is lovely in every respect and a GREAT value!! Our hosts Alex & Evelyn were most welcoming and helpful, the house is beautiful, our room was clean and very comfortable. We loved exploring Prades and the surrounding area. We definitely recommend Castell Rose and are certain to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    16
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
62
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed three nights here, and were marginally disappointed. It looks great on the web site, but in reality is a little down at heel and in need of a refurbish. The grounds too. Also our welcome was not brilliant - we were told we were three quarters of an hour early - why? So overall a bit shabby and the service a bit casual. Perhaps it was the end of the season and they had had enough of tourists!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Castell Rose is an elegant home built in the 1950s. It is spacious, set in extensive gardens, with excellent facilities including a pool, table tennis and tennis - and even a trampoline. The house is within easy walking distance of the town centre, and is well placed to reach many points of interest in this fascinating part of Roussillon.

We were fortunate to have one of the larger rooms, with an extremely comfortable bed, seating area, and small balcony with table and chairs and a superb view of the garden and Mt Canigou. We had a large bathroom with a good shower and twin basins(!). The room was equipped with that rarity, a kettle, with coffee and teas available. Next door was a fridge with cold drinks (honesty box) and a microwave.

Breakfast was superb, with a variety of breads, cheese, local meats and home made jams. The communal table made for a convivial start to the day.

Evelyne, our hostess, was very welcoming, and is keen to share her knowledge of the area and its attractions, both cultural and culinary. We would recommend Castell Rose unreservedly.

Room Tip: If you can run to the larger rooms, you are rewarded with great comfort and superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We recently stayed one week in "Picasso" studio, a perfect home away from home for two. On arrival Alex was the host extraordinaire providing us with local information, walking maps and tips on the must do activities of the beautiful region surrounding Prades. The studio was immaculately clean, beautifully fitted out and really warm and comfortable. The big bed with exquisite linen was heavenly. The facilities, including an excellent laundry were modern and efficient. An incredible bonus was a notebook computer as part of the room. The gardens surrounding Castell Rose give you the sense of being in the country, with all the benefits of the town of Prades within 10 minutes easy walk. We really loved our stay here and would recommend Castell Rose and Picasso studio without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Four of us stayed in the Gaudi apartment, first 2 weeks of September. The apartment was excellent, spacious, clean, very well equipped and the beds were extremely comfortable. Our terrace was private with plenty of outside furniture. With the ever decreasing (and expensive) baggage allowance on airlines, we consider good laundry facilities a must. We pack for a week, launder and wear again during week two. The laundry room was first class, complete with tumble dryer if needed and powder is provided. The pool area was superb with a fully equipped outside kitchen. All in all one of our top three holiday homes in France. Thank you Evelyne and Alex.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Castell Rose is in a lovely location with superb views, Evelyne and Alex were perfecr hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We had the best nights sleep of our holiday here it was so quiet and tranquil. It was nice sitting round the large table at breakfast chatting to a couple from Germany and swapping tales of motorcycle tours. we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is absolutely lovely. It's set in beautiful gardens surrounded by views of distant mountains and a short stroll into the centre of Prades. There are many walking routes nearby which can be accessed without a car, but also it is only a short drive to many other towns and hiking routes.

Our room was great, with a comfortable bed and nice big bathroom. We were made to feel incredibly welcome, and given a great breakfast every day of homemade croissants and homemade fig jam (which is the most delicious jam ever). I would recommend this hotel 100%. I wish I was staying longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castell Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castell Rose

Address: Chemin de la Litera, 66500 Prades, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Prades
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Prades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the sea and the mountains and in the heart of the Pyrenees Orientales region, Evelyne and Alex welcome you to Castell Rose. It is an impressive pink marble middle class home, which enjoys the benefit of a unique situation, 2.5 hectares of parkland with centennial trees. The charm and character of the building will seduce you, as will the peace and the gentle rhythm of life in this special place. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castell Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castell Rose to your Saves list