We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Chanceliere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sancerre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Chanceliere
Save
You added La Chanceliere to your Saves list
5, rue Hilaire Amagat | St Satur, 18300 Sancerre, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 14 Sancerre B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

You do NOT want to pick a hotel! This is the place to stay if you wish to visit the Loire Valley, taste excellent wine and cheese. After a long road journey from Paris (peak hour traffic), we were suddenly sitting on a sun drenched patio overlooking the hilltop village of Sancerre, sipping cool sauvignon blanc, served by Nicole and Jacques: there just cannot be a better welcome to the Loire Valley. She loves cooking, is an artist whose paintings hang everywhere; he loves horticulture and pottery and wine making and together they love people around them - that much is obvious from the warmth and help we received before travelling to the most amazing cellars, on their recommendation. They read their visitors ''like a map'', which is the key ingredient to any successful ''home'' accommodation. The villa/little chateau has been in the family for generations, and they take great care to keep the character, but stay with the times: heated towel stack in the bathroom, best sheets we have ever slept under, private and excellent breakfast, served away from other guests, with the fire place going on a cool morning. And then Madame Nicole showed us the way to the best goats cheese in Chavignol - never tasted anything like it; even in the Michelin starred restaurants. You cannot buy advice like this anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Where to start with this stunning B+B ... The property is tucked away in the village and you get to it and WOW. View of Sancerre as well as the stunning terrace and garden.
The rooms are all carefully and tastefully decorated with beautiful attention to details. Clearly this is our hosts pride and joy. Breakfasts were scrumptious with everything you could want.
Nicole and Jacques have thoughts of everything and nothing is too much for them to help with. Our stay was perfect in every way. Highly recommend!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had an extraordinary few days at La Chanceliere. As others have written, Nicole and Jacque were the perfect hosts. Gracious, warm and helpful. Nicole arranged our first dinner at a nearby restaurant ( which was wonderful!) and also directed us to a winery where we were well taken care of. Our room was lovely, furnished with beautiful antiques and included a very spacious bathroom. Indeed, the ambiance and beauty of the property were perfect, as was the marvelous breakfast we had ( one day in a drawing room and the other on the lovely terrace). In fact, all of our experience at La Chanceliere was exceptional!
We highly recommend a stay at La Chanceliere and look forward to returning there.
Marc and Peter - San Francisco

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The wonderful team of Jacques and Nicole are the power behind this picturesque respite in the middle of France, the center of Sancerre, Loire Valley. Attention to detail in ambiance and service made our two night stay one of our cherished memories: breathtaking, beautiful terrace views of the castle and starlit nights, dancing fields of vines perched on slopes. We plan to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

What wonderful hosts! Nicole and Jacques are so warm friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We had all the comforts luxury that is expected. The service was exceptional and the ambience relaxed ands calming! A wonderful rest in a beautiful setting well worth going back to Sancerre just to do it again!

Room Tip: Downstairs is warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights at la Chanceliere‏ in early November 2012, we could not have been looked after better. From the surprise of coming from a narrow street into the wonderful house and the truly magnificent bedrooms and rounded off with a truly personal service this was one of our most memorable stays.

Great rooms, 'magnificent breakfast', expert local knowledge (together with owners making personal calls to arrange!) make for lodging I unreservedly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Staying at this lovely B&B was what made our holiday in the Sancerre region so wonderful. Our hosts Nicole and Jacques were accommodating and helpful. They drove us to a wonderful winery in Chavignol and arranged for us to be driven back to the B&B in the afternoon which was a service we did not expect. The terrace is the best part of the house and we spent a beautiful sunny afternoon playing cards and drinking wine. One night we decided to go pick up snacks rather than go out to dinner and Nicole provided us with plates, cutlery, etc. as well as a lamp so we wouldn't be eating in the dark. The only negative about this place is the fact that the wifi doesn't reach the upstairs bedrooms at all which was rather frustrating. However, the breakfast and the views more than made up for it. Overall a truly wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with an ensuite toilet facing the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Chanceliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chanceliere

Address: 5, rue Hilaire Amagat | St Satur, 18300 Sancerre, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Centre > Berry > Cher > Sancerre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Sancerre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful XVIIIth century manor house has wonderfully large lounges and has large south facing terrace with panoramic view of Sancerre with its vines and castle on the top of the hill.The hosts Jacques and Nicole, have been welcoming guests for over 12 years. They have taken pride in the insuring the beauty and comfort of their naturally quiet ensuite bedrooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated and filled antique family furniture. You have all amenities including fine bedding, under floor heating and a little lift.The breakfast is served on the terrace or in one of the salons depending on the weather.We can organize cellar visits and wine tasting for Sancerre and Pouilly fumé. We are also very happy to help and recommend the area activities and restaurants and if you are looking for a non wine activity, we can arrange Golf, Tennis and Canoeing on la Loire which are all very close by. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Chanceliere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.