We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Logis d'Arromanches

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Logis d'Arromanches to your Saves list
Logis d'Arromanches
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2, rue du Colonel Rene Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were looking for a nice place to stay while visiting the D-Day landing beaches... Wow This hotel is really nice, we had a room overlooking the sea and eventhough it was rainning which in Normandy is kind of commun by the way, it was warm and neat. The restaurant of this hotel is just wonderful, they had just changed the chief and we were really surprised of having a real nice french "cuisine" on this side of France other than in Paris.
Congratulations to all the Staff...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed Sept 2012 for 2 nights.
Good location next to DDay Gold beach landing museum, and an uphill trek to the Arromanches 360 cinema, and basically central to all the beaches, Gold being the middle beach. Rooms fairly basic, but thats fine, and hotel next to a few restaurants and has a restaurant itself.
The reason I give it a 3 rating and not 4 is the breakfast. Even for France it was basic and not a lot of effort was put in. Basically a cold of small rolls each, a croissant, pan au chocolat (both not warmed up), and jam, one glass of juice and a coffee, and wait for it..... a babybel ! and this had been left out all night. For 10 Euro's I would have at least expected some cereal, soft cheese choice, and maybe ham.
Apart from that a nice stay. Oh, everywhere in Arromanches shuts at 9pm apart from one bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, Propriétaire at Logis d'Arromanches, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We thank you for your time on tripadvisor.
We are glad you had a good time in Arromanches.
Our breakfast is a continental breakfast and our "ROLLS" are fresh frm the morning since they are delivered by the bakory itself and OF COURSE they are cold by the time you eat them. They are never hot... If you find a Hotel in France that serves HOT croissants and Pain au chocolat... let us know, because they will be frozen !!! It looks as you didn't find the yogurts and fresh apple fruit and butter on the basket placed in the middle of the restaurant... since you don't mention them, You could have got as much as apple juice and as much coffee or the or hot chocolat as you wanted.
A slice of ham... why didn' you ask the waiter ? we are ready to serve you.
We thank you again for your visit.
Luis et Pascaline - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is a small, friendly hotel which is in the middle of this small town. We were there at the beginning of D-Day week and it was very busy with its celebrations. Talking to the staff (who speak very good english) it appears that the hotel has changed hands recently but the new owner says he wishes to maintain the current atmosphere. Our only problem was a very thin curtain at one of the windows and no working shutter but this was a minor problem. The restaurant is serving good food at reasonable prices with menus to suit all tastes. There is a large car park on the seafront but it is only free between 7.00 p.m. and 9.00 a.m. After that it is only 1€ per hour so very reasonable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 if possible as it has a very low doorway at the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked here VERY last minute and the staff was kindly responsive and informative via email.

The hotel is in a great location. We could see the D-Day beaches from our 3rd-story window and at sunset, it was a beautiful sight.

The parking was not a problem as there was a lot just kiddy-corner from the hotel and it was free of charge from 7 pm to 9 am or so and then after that, just 1-euro an hour.

We were so kindly welcomed and so well taken care of by the owner. He was there until closing and there when we came down to the restaurant for complimentary breakfast. The breakfast of local cider, hot chocolate, yogurt and assorted breads was delicious and just what we needed to start the day.

The room was clean and felt inviting with a nicely-sized bathroom and comfortable shower.

Other than the narrow staircase, which actually gives the place character and is fun to wind up down through, I really had no issues with the hotel. We loved it and it was such a nice experience to be in Normandy. What a memorable place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Logis d'Arromanches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis d'Arromanches

Address: 2, rue du Colonel Rene Michel, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis d'Arromanches 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seaside just 50m from the beach, a warm guest establishment and ideal spot from which to set out your discovery of Normandy. At the hotel, bask in the comfort of cosy rooms with bathroom and hairdryer, satellite TV, canal+, private car park 200m. At the restaurant le pappagall, enjoy timeless recipes with a highlight on seafood dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Logis d'Arromanches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis D'Arromanches Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Logis d'Arromanches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.