We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mulberry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mulberry to your Saves list
Le Mulberry
6 rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Basic good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Le Mulberry. The room was clean and comfortable but basic. I would have liked a kettle for that all important early morning cuppa.

If you get rooms 7, 8 or 9 - beware. They are at the back and right next to the church. We didn't mind as they switch off at 10pm and don't start again till 7 in the morning. But if you want an early night or a lie in - forget it.

Breakfast was simple but good - bread & croissant with a good selection of jams plus delicious coffee and the largest selection of teas I have ever seen. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening but the menu looked pretty good.

Very friendly family run hotel and a good base for exploring the area

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    51
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose Le Mulberry primarily based on it's location within Arromanches (5 minutes from the beach/ main street) and the fact the rooms could fit a family of 4. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of August with our 2 children aged 10 and 8. We received a very friendly welcome from the owner (who spoke good English) and his staff.

This feels essentially like a restaurant (an excellent one) with a number of rooms attached. Our family room was accessed from the rear and overlooked a pretty street/ church. The room was basic and slightly full with the double/ single/ pull out bed but very clean. The only disadvantage of being so close to the church was that we were woken up by the bells at 7am (it rang hourly
from 7am - 10pm). However, there is an excellent breakfast waiting and so much to see and do in the area so it really wasn't a problem.

We ate in the restaurant on site on our last night and it was our best meal of the trip. On the other days we walked to the main street parallel with the beach and tried the various restaurants there.

Arromanches is a beautiful little town with it's Mulberry harbour, interesting small museum explaining about the D Day landings and the 360 degree cinema up high. We visited each of the 5 D Day landing beaches and several museums (Pointe du hoc, American cemetery visitor centre, site hillman at Colleville Montgomery) as well as some very poignant cemeteries.

Arromanches is just a short drive from Bayeux, a beautiful old city with very interesting museum housing the Bayeux tapestry which the children were very interested to see (audio guides provided) .

Overall , a very friendly hotel in a beautiful town and in a region rich in history. Definitely worth a visit! We just need to spend more time next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

At the last minute I changed my hotel booking to the Mulberry on the basis of the great feedback it had received. We were not disappointed!

This small hotel is run by Christian and his wife. They could not have been more helpful or accommodating. On receiving my online booking Christian emailed me to welcome us and to ask if we had any special requirements. I mentioned that my wife had impaired mobility following a recent knee replacement - we were immediately given the only ground floor room.

The bedroom itself was large, clean and very comfortable, with a very serviceable en suite shower room. Breakfast was to a high standard: cereals, yoghurts, croissants, bread with jams and cheese - and fresh orange juice. Plus all the tea or coffee you could drink. You would be hard pressed to leave the breakfast table still feeling hungry!

We dined in the hotel's small restaurant one evening and the food was both excellent and very reasonable in price.

The hotel is situated next door to a church which provided us daily with a delightful alarm call at 7am (the bells were silent between 10.01pm and 7.00am). We heard no traffic noise at all at night and so had lovely, uninterrupted sleep.

The Hotel Le Mulberry was a delight to find - as was the lovely town of Arromanches. It is a small, sleepy, friendly town but with several restaurants and stunning views of the Mulberry Harbour remains (some of which you can walk out to at low tide). Virtually everybody seems to speak English.

My wife and I would not hesitate to return to Arromanches and to the Mulberry hotel - they were both joyful.

Room Tip: I read one review which complained about a small room size (Room 2, I recall). I mentioned this to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a little gem! The staff were so friendly, the room spotlessly clean. We stayed in the annexe at the rear of the hotel, which had skylight windows (we could see the church tower!) We really enjoyed our three nights there. Stone steps led to our private door, it was like being in a small apartment. We liked the privacy. We even had a little shared patio, with tables and chairs. The bathroom had a big stand alone shower, toilet and basin (no bath) and was exceptionally clean. A quilt on the comfortable king sized bed - would have liked extra pillows, but I'm sure I would have been given them if I had asked. We were awoken every morning at seven by the church bells! It's less than five minutes walk to the beach. Future guests should know that there is no hairdryer in the room and no tea/coffee making facilities.
Thoroughly enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: If you don't mind being woken at 7am, and you like privacy, ask for the annexe room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in Le Mulberry for two nights in a double room. We arrived around 8pm and there was no problem at all with the check-in. The staff was very welcoming. Our room was at the back of the hotel (a short walk from the main building), located in a small house overlooking the local church. The room was small, with lots of light and spotless clean, bathroom was bigger then expected and also very clean. The church stopped ringing at 10pm and started ringing at 7am; it made no problem for us for sleeping. Breakfast was good (croissants, marmalades, bread, butter, cheese, cereals) and bread they served was fantastic.

Arromanches is a lovely and tranquil village, a perfect base for exploring the history of the D-day landing sites and museums, as well as for enjoying the nature of Normandy. Don’t miss trying out local ciders!

Pros: central location, clean, good service, friendly staff
Cons: small room (don’t expect to spend much time in it), some may mind the church ringing so check the location of the room before booking.

Room Tip: Some may mind the proxmity of church (bells ringing) so check the exact location of the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

One of our party became ill and we came very early to see if we could secure a room well before check in time (we had reservations for much later in the day) so our sickly party member could rest. the proprietors could not have been more accommodating.They gave us our two rooms. the rooms are nice and the price is fair. There is a church whose bells ring at odd times. This oddity did not disturb anyone in our party. The hotel is a few streets away from important D-Day beaches.And the breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I had a lovely stay at this quirky hotel last weekend.

The owners are lovely and very helpful, the food was great and the room we had was really nice. The hotel is right next to the clock tower which is pretty loud but you get used to it, so it didn't bother us. We had the room round the back of the hotel at the top of the steps, which was a good size and really nice shower room!

Arromanches is a great palce to stay, lots to see in the town and close to lots of other sites.

We will definatley stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mulberry

Address: 6 rue Maurice Lithare, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Arromanches-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Arromanches-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mulberry Hotel Arromanches-Les-Bains
Le Mulberry Arromanches-Les-Bains, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mulberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.