We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo yummy!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La compagnie des glaces

La compagnie des glaces
4 Place du 6 Juin 1944, Arromanches-les-Bains, France
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Soooo yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We love ice cream, and this is by far one of our favorite places so far!!! It has a great variety of flavors, including Calvados! It's not the most affordable ice cream we've had, but it's worth every penny! I had the Calvados flavor, and chocolate, and yogurt. My husband had melon and red peach. They were all great! I wish we had come back some other day for more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Normandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed in Arromanches for four days and had ice cream here three out of the four days we stayed. Most of the flavors are excellent! I had apricot, coconut, chocolate, black currant, and hazelnut and, with the exception of the hazelnut, they were all outstanding!

Highly recommend this shop if you want to have a nice treat between lunch and dinner or as dessert after dinner in town. Also, it's located right on the beach, so you can enjoy a treat and watch the ocean or the sun set.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice and excellent flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Right in the centre of town and overlooking the sea this ice cream parlour is a real treat. The choice of flavours was stunning and the ice ream itself perfect.

Highlights were raspberry, nougat, Nutella, chocolate brownie and vanilla. €3.80 for two scoops

We sat on the sea wall overlooking the beach and the WWII floating harbour, a perfect way to end a day on the Normandy coast

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My goodness, what an assortment of colours and flavours. Absolutely delicious. I don't think anyone could find there wasn't a flavour to suit them

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La compagnie des glaces also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La compagnie des glaces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La compagnie des glaces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.