We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and great fish and mussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marine

La Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 (0) 2 31 22 34 19
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view and great fish and mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our d day tour driver suggested we eat here while he fixed the dead battery in his van and we were not disappointed. We settled into a couple bottles of guigal wine and split a bowl of mussels and fritters amount four of us that were delicious. Had the fish and chips which was very lightly breaded and fresh and tasty. Not a bargain, but not over the top either for the location on the beach. Made for a great unexpected find in this quaint touristy town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    63
    31
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We decided that we would eat here on our last night in france, so we wandered down from our hotel and thought we would have a drink first before we ordered our meal. I asked for a glass of rose and the waitress said would you rather have a half bottle to which i said yes and my hubby had a pint of lager. The waitress brought the bill with the drinks and i was amazed that it was 26 euros. We then checked the menu and saw that fish and chips was 18 euros each so we drank up and went elsewhere to eat. I know they have a prime place on the seafront but i felt that it was way to expensive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hôtel de la mar... M, Responsable relations clients at La Marine, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Madame, Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience abour our property. We are sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay with us...
Regarding what you describe, we only serve the best quality of products and also for the wine. The price is determinated by the quality. Also for the Fish and Chips, it is not a frozen one. We serve fresh cod and also it is home made and minute prepared. We just want to do our job this way : just the best products and quality we can find in Normandy.
We wish you a very pleasant day!
Mme Durand Lénaïc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very very enjoyable meal, with fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This Restuarant has a fantastic view over the Normandy beaches, a wonderful place to watch the sun setting over the English Channel and time to reflect on the awful events that took place some 70 years ago along this beautiful stretch of Coast.
This is one of the best meals we have had in France for some time, the menu was small but full of fresh produce especially the fresh fish which we all had, The staff were very helpful and friendly and we found the service to be fast and very efficient on a reasonably busy evening.
The desserts were wonderful and the wine list offered a good selection of wines to suit all budgets, all in all a very pleasant evening and we all agreed we would happily eat at the La Marine again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wonderful food and very good service. We had a great view of the beach and my 91 year old dad , a D Day veteran was made very welcome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Magnificent Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The restaurant not only has very good food, but its view out to the Nornmandy beaches including Omaha Beach in the distance makes it a very special place. You can view the artificial harbors that were brought in to enable D-Day to happen. The slow service enables you to have a long look at the surrounding area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.