We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a super setting at Arromanches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marine

La Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 (0) 2 31 22 34 19
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a super setting at Arromanches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and took our evening meal in the restaurant. the food was very good - seafood in the main and very French.
The evening was very busy and though the waiters were obviously working hard, I had the impression that the diners who chose the more expensive menu were looked after that little bit better!
However, the food was very good. The fish soup was a very strongly flavoured dish, not for the faint hearted!
The roasted Cod with braised vegetables in a fruity sauce was tasty if portion size was a little small.
We chose the recommended red wine at 25E a bottle, avoiding the Chateaux Neuf Du Pape at 178E!!!
A very nice meal spoilt by slow (inattentive) service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    30
    40
    21
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
2 reviews
“good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you likes have fresh and well prepared fish at lunch or dinner, this is the right place to join.The service is really professional and you can have a perfect view of the sea and of remaining parts of the port built by english and american soldiers during last world war

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by the hotel we were staying in. It was very pleasant - good food, and great wine advice. Splendid views to sea. You are overlooking what is left of the British Mulberry artificial harbour used after the D Day landings to move supplies from England to the troops. Pricing was OK, perhaps a little high.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Best Choice in Arromanches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not much else around if you want something different from fast food. Reasonable food but over-priced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tasty with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

On a rainy June evening, we explored the small town of Arromanches. On our innkeeper's recommendation, we ate at La Marine. For folks like us who eat early in the evening, the 7 pm first seating was a little late (but made us feel very European). We are glad we waited! The food was lovely. Cod has a reputation for being plain, but the cod and risotto I had melted in my mouth. The service was perfect. Sullivan, our waiter, treated us well, helping us understand the menu when needed (we do not speak French). In addition to the tasty food, we were able to watch the sea during dinner. The restaurant is arranged so that every table has a view of the sea. If you want a relaxing place to treat yourself for dinner, visit La Marine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.