We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marine

La Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 (0) 2 31 22 34 19
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sausalito
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by the hotel we were staying in. It was very pleasant - good food, and great wine advice. Splendid views to sea. You are overlooking what is left of the British Mulberry artificial harbour used after the D Day landings to move supplies from England to the troops. Pricing was OK, perhaps a little high.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    30
    42
    21
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Best Choice in Arromanches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Not much else around if you want something different from fast food. Reasonable food but over-priced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Tasty with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

On a rainy June evening, we explored the small town of Arromanches. On our innkeeper's recommendation, we ate at La Marine. For folks like us who eat early in the evening, the 7 pm first seating was a little late (but made us feel very European). We are glad we waited! The food was lovely. Cod has a reputation for being plain, but the cod and risotto I had melted in my mouth. The service was perfect. Sullivan, our waiter, treated us well, helping us understand the menu when needed (we do not speak French). In addition to the tasty food, we were able to watch the sea during dinner. The restaurant is arranged so that every table has a view of the sea. If you want a relaxing place to treat yourself for dinner, visit La Marine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

of course the view is great but besides that (and you can obviously get the same view just sitting on the promenade) La Marine is nothing special. Actually a bit disappointing and especially very expensive. not far from the cost of the Michelin star chateau we dined in the night before...This is a place which most probably decided that given its location and stream of diners who are the hotel's guest, working too hard is not really necessary. Hence 3 waiters serving an entire full restaurant, a tiny fish as a main course and a bouillabaisse which was more of a Gerber soup than anything resembling it's origins. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One of the most brilliat views of the landing beach GOLD.
My food was piping hot, well presented and delicious. Very good prices and a super draught beer. Much enjoyed and i will return (to use a phrase)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.