We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT VIEW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marine

La Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 (0) 2 31 22 34 19
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT VIEW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One of the most brilliat views of the landing beach GOLD.
My food was piping hot, well presented and delicious. Very good prices and a super draught beer. Much enjoyed and i will return (to use a phrase)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    63
    31
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A dsiappointing return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This must be our fourth trip to La Marine restaurant, have also stayed at the hotel. The food and location are great - the restaurant interior is lovely and great views of the sea/Mulberry Harbour. The food is a great quality although comes at a price! What let it down for us was a grumpy waiter - we had made an early evening reservation but this clearly wasn't to the waiter's liking. One of his colleagues was very helpful but this particular waiter's surliness put a dampner on the meal. Pity, because this had previously been a 'must do' on our list in the Normandy region.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our first night in Arromanches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived in Arromanches on a chilly, rainy evening, having driven to Nomany from Amsterdam. After checking in at our hotel (not the one affiliated with the restaurant), we walked down to the town's beach area. We were tired, cold and hungry so we wandered into La Marine. It was early for dinner by European standards so the restaurant was not at all crowded. Instead of being seated at one of the many empty tables at a window overlooking the beach, we were seated at an interior table with a bit of a view. Despite this less than welcoming reception, we did enjoy a very nice meal of fresh seafood and a delicious wine recommended by our server. It was probably the best meal of our vacation, but it was also the most expensive BY FAR. We did, however, order from the 3 course prie fixe menus and did not leave hungry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I ate here during our trip in Normandy. The restaurant was very nice and had nice views of the sea. The staff was not friendly and seemed incredibly rushed even though the place was only half filled, and our waiter was practically running delivering food from the kitchen. The food was OK/good and prepared well. A relaxing evening was ruined as we ended up feeling stressed leaving the restaurant because of the way the staff rushed around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice view. OK restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Not too many places are open on a May Tuesday night in Arromanches so we were happy to find this place directly on the beach. It was very busy with other tourists and with only 3 waiters, we did not mind the wait as we enjoyed the view. My wife and I both ordered the fish soup and calamari. We got our meals after an hour or so and found the soup to be lacking in taste somewhat. This was followed by calamari which had a good side sauce to give this relatively bland dish some taste. We finished our meals with the cheesecake which was good. All in all, this meal was OK and given the limited choices available in a small village, recommended for a lazy Tuesday night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.