We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab view and fab seafood!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marine

La Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 (0) 2 31 22 34 19
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stockcross
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab view and fab seafood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had excellent Soupe de poissons, amazingly fresh plate of fresh seafood and my son had an absolutely enormous steak frites. They were happy to cook the steak a little more to suit his tastes and were charming - but lovely ambience, friendly staff, great, well-priced Muscadet and amazingly fresh fish made this a lovely experience. Windows by the table and a view of the sea made it even better!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    29
    40
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exellent restaurant and best hotel allong the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel has large rooms with great furnashings, Very clean, good service exceptionell breakfast and greaqt service,
The restaurant served the best seafood in arromanches.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely view and a lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Being the first time that we had visited France as a couple, we were seeking a week of quiet sight-seeing and by choosing to visit out of season, this restaurant was almost perfect. We ate there mid week, just after the easter holidays and the restaurant was very quiet. We were given a table in front of the window without a reservation, with lovely sea views and the waiter was very efficient, if not a little abrupt. The food was of very high standard, but in this sort of establishment, you are obviously paying for the setting/surroundings, so quite pricey. We both went for the steak and as usual, it was perfect, totally as expected. The parking is very convenient and is in close proximity to the D-Day museum and a series of quaint little souvenir shops. I have visited this restaurant before with family, and I will be visiting again on our next trip to Normandy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant with great view of the beach and sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel restaurant is located on the seafront at Arromanches on the opposite side of the square from the D-Day Museum. Without a dinner reservation we were given a table with a sea view by the friendly staff. My husband chose oysters from Utah beach to start (which turned out to be the best we'd ever tasted) and I had foie gras. For our second course we chose sea bass which was served on a creamy risotto with peas and bacon. The bass was cut from a large fish and been attractively grilled. We ended our meal with cheese for one and a desert for the other. With a delicious bottle of Quincy, a half-bottle of Perrier water and two coffees, our meal came to EUR 110, not our idea of cheap but well-worth it for the quality of the food, wine and the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best restaurant on the d-day routes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

wonderful, fish dishes are fabulous and the service is excellent.Be prepared for a wait and if not to cold sit outside and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful little corner of the world.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.