We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely view and a lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Marine

La Marine
1, quai du Canada, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
+33 (0) 2 31 22 34 19
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A lovely view and a lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Being the first time that we had visited France as a couple, we were seeking a week of quiet sight-seeing and by choosing to visit out of season, this restaurant was almost perfect. We ate there mid week, just after the easter holidays and the restaurant was very quiet. We were given a table in front of the window without a reservation, with lovely sea views and the waiter was very efficient, if not a little abrupt. The food was of very high standard, but in this sort of establishment, you are obviously paying for the setting/surroundings, so quite pricey. We both went for the steak and as usual, it was perfect, totally as expected. The parking is very convenient and is in close proximity to the D-Day museum and a series of quaint little souvenir shops. I have visited this restaurant before with family, and I will be visiting again on our next trip to Normandy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    63
    31
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant with great view of the beach and sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel restaurant is located on the seafront at Arromanches on the opposite side of the square from the D-Day Museum. Without a dinner reservation we were given a table with a sea view by the friendly staff. My husband chose oysters from Utah beach to start (which turned out to be the best we'd ever tasted) and I had foie gras. For our second course we chose sea bass which was served on a creamy risotto with peas and bacon. The bass was cut from a large fish and been attractively grilled. We ended our meal with cheese for one and a desert for the other. With a delicious bottle of Quincy, a half-bottle of Perrier water and two coffees, our meal came to EUR 110, not our idea of cheap but well-worth it for the quality of the food, wine and the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best restaurant on the d-day routes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

wonderful, fish dishes are fabulous and the service is excellent.Be prepared for a wait and if not to cold sit outside and soak up the atmosphere of this beautiful little corner of the world.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Average food and strained service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not impressed. Decent but that's it.
Our moules were overcooked, it took them 30 minutes to make them and the service was rather unimpressive bordering on impolite. The price, however, was steep for what we got.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“High prices for not more than average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Fabulous view of an historic beach but, unfortunately, you can't eat a view... and the food did not go beyond average (and that's a stretch, but I don't want to be mean...), which means that the pretty steep prices were not justified. Our expectations had been high and we were all disappointed: mean portions, one guest's steak was a good 50% gristle, the vegetables accompanying each main course were minuscule (at best) and the desserts turned out to be a real "come-down". Service: friendly enough but a little bit too much on the slow side. Lastly, I did not fail to notice that the lovely baguette slices were served resting on a cloth that was meant to be white but that really, really could have done with a good old wash in boiling hot water! Would not go there again and would not recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marine also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.