We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Normandie Restaurant

Hotel de Normandie Restaurant
5 place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
0033 02.31.22.34.32
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had people tell us not to go here but on the Monday the 12th it and one other place was the only area in town to eat. My daughter and i when in and ordered, It was a bit like Fawlty Towers where i think the cook was the waiter also. We spoke a little French and this i felt helped us get our meals that little bit faster. The food was great, service was a tad cold.But then i when there for a meal not to become his best friend so all good from my point of view.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    23
    29
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pont-L'Eveque, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I can only speak of there restaurant. Tourist ripoff. Worst moules marinières I have ever tasted. Obviously microwaved. Dry to the point of being crisp. Others of the party left most of their choices too. Avoid.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My mother in law and myself went for lunch at this hotel whilst my partner and his father visited the musuem. We we greeted by a young man that seemed in an awful rush even though it was clearly not busy. After ordering drinks we asked for a menu, the young man threw the reciept for the drinks at us and stormed off. As we were discussing paying for drinks and going else where for lunch a elder man came out with the menus and was apologetic. We ordered lunch and was pleasently suprised by fresh mussels. Shame about the staff ! Arromanches town is well worth the visit though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel right at the sea shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel part was a little dated but cosy. We had five rooms as a group. Every room was a different siize. You got what you paid for. The rooms where very clean and well furnished.
Free parkind was availeble in the back of the hotel.. The breakfast buffet was good. We had three dinners at the restaurant with verious sea food dishes. All the meals where very good and the servive was prompt and helpful with the menue.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

this was the most disappointing meal we had on our latest trip to France. Service was rushed and the food had a very mass produced feel about it. Such a shame because the actual restaurant looked so nice from the outside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de Normandie Restaurant also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Hotel de Normandie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Normandie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.