We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Normandie Restaurant

Hotel de Normandie Restaurant
5 place du 6 Juin 1944, 14117 Arromanches-les-Bains, France
0033 02.31.22.34.32
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My mother in law and myself went for lunch at this hotel whilst my partner and his father visited the musuem. We we greeted by a young man that seemed in an awful rush even though it was clearly not busy. After ordering drinks we asked for a menu, the young man threw the reciept for the drinks at us and stormed off. As we were discussing paying for drinks and going else where for lunch a elder man came out with the menus and was apologetic. We ordered lunch and was pleasently suprised by fresh mussels. Shame about the staff ! Arromanches town is well worth the visit though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

28% Recommend
    4
    18
    19
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel right at the sea shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel part was a little dated but cosy. We had five rooms as a group. Every room was a different siize. You got what you paid for. The rooms where very clean and well furnished.
Free parkind was availeble in the back of the hotel.. The breakfast buffet was good. We had three dinners at the restaurant with verious sea food dishes. All the meals where very good and the servive was prompt and helpful with the menue.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

this was the most disappointing meal we had on our latest trip to France. Service was rushed and the food had a very mass produced feel about it. Such a shame because the actual restaurant looked so nice from the outside.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived in Arromanches around lunchtime and I dreaded trying to find somewhere to eat as it's such a touristy place. However, we were very pleasantly surprised by this restaurant. Service was fine - bit brisk and French, but perfectly fine- and food was good. The children had steak hache and it was genuinely really good steak - as good as we'd have at home for a special treat! I also had a burger, which again was delicious and my husband had mussels. All of us were very happy with our meals and the service. It was 't bad value at all considering the touristy nature of the town. The location opposite the harbour was great. We'd definitely return again if in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice food in a pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Overall, this is an average restaurant, with a wide variety of choice on the menu. The restaurant is in a fairly central location to Arromanches, being across from the main car park and museum. The food is of good quality, but the service is very slow, very understaffed and we visited in a quiet period. I believe this restaurant would struggle in the busy peak periods. For our first experience though, not bad, not the best, but would probably use again if passing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de Normandie Restaurant also viewed

Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
Arromanches-les-Bains, Calvados
 

Been to Hotel de Normandie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Normandie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.